Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £140.00 - £150.00

NEW

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1110 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1110 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Plant hunter coat

Great coat, size 16. I already have the unlined long parka coat (size 14)which I love and wanted the same style but warmer. This coat is perfect, warm and waterproof with room for a warm sweater. Delivery to France to a collection point worked really well. Delivery to my remote rural house has been problematic in the past.

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

* * * * -

Another great seasalt coat!

This is my 3rd seasalt coat. Always great quality and style. Although I am 5'5" I find the petite fit perfect. Sleeves on most coats cover my entire hands! This coat is perfect. I've dropped 1 anchor purely because the limited colour choice in the petite fit, I would have preferred slate but only choice of 2. Otherwise very pleased.

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Spongekay,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Colour for a change

Have just received this coat and it's lovely to have a colourful coat for a change. Nice to have a 'tall' coat in a colour as previously they've been dull and dark . More colour for us taller than average people please. Would also like bigger pockets for dog walking paraphernalia.

Posted by  •  17th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Tallone,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback. We'll be sure to pass your suggestions on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Delighted

Fits well. Ticks all boxes and smart too. Speedy delivery was a boon

Posted by  •  17th October 2020

* * * * *

Oak Plant Hunter

My Oak Plant Hunter coat arrived yesterday and I’m so happy with it! I made the investment after constant raving from my mum about her several Seasalt coats, including this one, which seem to last her years. I used the measurements guide for sizing and found it to be true - it’s a roomy fit with the internal toggles meaning I can adjust it to suit layering underneath. The colour seems slightly different to the pictures - l’d describe it as mustard with more green tones in it than I’d expected but it’s an unusual colour which makes a nice change. As a vegan, I’m also glad to see the little leather loops attached to the hood’s pull are no longer in use as there’s no need for these and they would have stopped me from buying the coat altogether. I’m sure the plastic toggles which have replaced them are more secure anyway. Overall, very happy with my purchase and looking forward to trying it out in the rain!

Posted by  •  17th October 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

A solid winter winner

I wanted a waterproof coat that was also warm but breathable for my early morning walks. I wanted a proper hood, one that fit without being too big and falling off my head, allowing water and wind to get through pesky openings. And finally, very high on my list, I wanted it to fit. I am only 5 foot tall and most coats swamp me. Well, the Plant Hunter in Petite size 6 ticked all the boxes for me. The length is spot on, the coat is roomy enough for a warm jumper underneath without being oversized and it insulates perfectly without feeling sweaty. The added fleece in the adjustable hood and back is pure comfort and I have done away with my umbrella on rainy days, even the heavy ones! As an added feature it allows you to pull an inner waist drawcord to tighten the waist so you can either have it roomy or on a more snug fit. The pockets are also roomy enough that I don't need to lug a handbag with me on walks. I also love that when the time comes it can be washed with a specific product that will give restore its waterproof characteristics. Overall an absolute winner! I would say if you are undecided between sizes, go for the smaller size unless you are very busty. I am normally a size 8 but size 6 was the right choice.

Posted by  •  16th October 2020

Comments:

Dear JO,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Plant Hunter coat, we are so pleased to hear that you love it!

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: Small Fit
* * * * -

I love this coat

For years I've wanted to buy a good waterproof coat. I was lucky enough to find this in the store in Oxford and try it on. I did seem to go up a size but it is great, it doesn't swamp me and yet has space for layers. So comfortable and warm. I was concerned about the sleeve length but then noticed the poppers so you can roll them back, perfect.

Posted by  •  16th October 2020

* * - - -

Colour not as shown

I ordered the coat thinking from the pictures it was more of a mustard yellow but when it arrived it is closer to green. It's going straight back, so disappointing.

Posted by  •  16th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Tor,

Thanks for your review but we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time.
Thanks for your feedback regarding the colour. We do try to represent colours accurately but screen resolution settings can affect the colours you see when browsing a website. We'll have a look at this one to see if we can adjust it slightly.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team


Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Lovely cosy coat

I love everything of this coat- the colour, the quality & style. It's probably I little loose on the body ( I am an 6/8) but I still like how it fits me.

Posted by  •  16th October 2020

* * * - -

Great Coat, wrong fit for me

Gutted to have to return this. I really love the colour. All the other seasalt winter coats are just too dull for me so was so pleased when I saw the mast colour. The coat is a lovely shape and I like the way you can adjust it to define the waist. But the waist is set a bit too high for me so it looks unflattering. The main problem is the hood is far to small and the front of my hair and face would get wet. I have found this problem with some of the other seasalt coats. I have decided to return it and keep the Janelle which I actually don't like as much in terms of colour and style but at least the hood will keep me dry. Overall the plant hunter is a great coat just wrong on me.

Posted by  •  16th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Jen,

Thanks for your lovely review but we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed