Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £140.00 - £150.00

NEW

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1263 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1263 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

* * * * *

lovely

Really love my Plant Hunter coat. It is cosy, very light in weight and also generous in size. Excellent quality and would highly recommend Seasalt to all my friends. Excellent service.

Posted by  •  24th November 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

More than a doggy coat

So, it was time to treat myself to a new dog walking coat.i love this coat so much that I'm wearing it for best. It's cozy yet light and I love the colour. I have been wearing white for years and the peacock blue is wonderful and getting me back into colour.So far I've stayed dry though haven't had a torrential downpour yet.

Posted by  •  22nd November 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Scotland

Love it! Went for the peacock colour. Great length for dog walking. Lovely And cosy but very light. Pockets big enough for poo bags, treats etc. The only problem is I like it so much I am wearing it everywhere. Went for size 10 as I had read other reviews and paid attention to the actual cost measurements given.

Posted by  •  20th November 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Happy

Comfortable coat, light weight and room for winter woollies underneath (as it's not a bulky padded coat). Does not feel like a waterproof fabric but so far I've stayed dry! Good length too for warmth and keeping legs dry. Difficult to decide which colour but chose coal in the end as it will go with everything. Smart but casual, as they say.

Posted by  •  19th November 2014

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Waterproof cosy coat

This is a very good buy - generously sized so you can get lots of layers underneath. It looks much longer on me than on the model but then everything does!
We are in France this week and there has been torrential rain - the coat didn't let a drop through and dries very quickly once you get out of the rain.
All in all, I am very pleased with it.

Posted by  •  17th November 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

perfect

I can't find anything bad about this coat. It fits perfectly. I'm normally a size 10 and that's the size I bought. I can fit a jumper underneath without it being too tight. The fleecy lining is very soft and cosy, like a hug in a coat! It's definitely waterproof because I tried it out in the Yorkshire rain! Perfect.

Posted by  •  14th November 2014

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

95% perfect

I wanted a coat to walk the dog in all weathers, this was also a treat for me. Not my normal style or indeed colour, (i chose coal) I ordered size 18 but whoop whoop it was huge on me I exchanged in store for a size 16 which is perfect. I test drove the coast on a harsh morning up St Agnes Beacon and I love it its windproof as described and rain proof apart from the cuffs were to loose and could have done with another button as the rain found its way in. I would also prefer to have had a bit of padding to the outside of the pockets for toastie fingers. I walk the dog in all conditions and this coat is dark, I would love to see a pocket with a flouro band in that you can whip out when you need to be seen. Just a thought. Well in essence its that gorgous that I will give it 5 stars because the noggles do nt make for 4 stars.

Posted by  •  13th November 2014

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Sizes are very large

I also had a lot of trouble with this coat. I had bought a size 14 and it was far to big. Luckily I returned it and got a refund. I am a size 16 in a Northstar. Eventually I found that a size 12 was a good fit and found one in my local shop. It still has room for a jumper. IT IS VERY CONFUSING THE SIZING WHEN ONE HAS GOT TO RETURN ALL THE TIME AND THAT COSTS MONEY.

Posted by  •  13th November 2014

Comments:

Hi Clairette,

Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter coat. I am sorry you found the sizing larger than expected. We do have an individual size guide online for each product, as depending on the style the measurements may vary. I do hope this helps and if you do require any further help or information on sizing please do give one of our lovely customer service assistants a call and they are more than happy to provide more sizing information. Best Wishes from all at Seasalt.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Too big!

I thought this was a lovely coat .. I bought it because it says it is the winter version of the hellweathers mac - I bought the same size but it is ABSOLUTELY HUGE! which is a little annoying as I thought I was safe to buy the same size as the hellweather's coat which fits perfectly - now I am probably looking at a very expensive return, and I am not sure about doing an exchange in case I need to pay to return it again!

Posted by  •  12th November 2014

Comments:

Dear Pip

Thank you for your review on the Plant Hunter Coat. Even though it is a version of our Hellweathers Mac the Plant Hunter has been designed to be a winter coat, and its measurements allow for winter clothing to be worn underneath. All our garments have individual measurement charts within their description to help with sizing, and our team at customer services is always on hand to answer any queries. We also recommend Collect+ within our returns section which we find can bring the return cost down.
Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

The best coat EVER!

This coat was recommended to me by a friend – I needed something waterproof and long enough to cover my work clothes on the walk to and from work. This coat is amazing! It’s knee length (I am 5ft 4) and keeps me warm and snug on my 30 minute walk. Hood is fantastic – not too sweaty and stays up. This coat is much nicer than the photos and I have had lots of good comments from friends etc. I was worried it would be a little frumpy and look like all the other unstylish waterproof coats out there, but the fabric is lovely and not “plastic” at all and the parka style and finish is good and looks very expensive. If in doubt, buy it – once you try this coat on you will never return it!

Posted by  •  11th November 2014

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed