Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

£150.00

Up to size 28

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1374 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1374 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

* * * * *

Great coat for the bad weather

Lovely and warm; I ordered a 22, as I have a thinner Seasalt Mac in a 20, which is quite a snug fit. The 22 in this style is a loose, generous fit so I may have got away with a 20. The sleeves are far too long for me, but I just turned them up. Definitely a good buy if you are going to be out and about in the wet

Posted by  •  28th December 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Fantastic!

The Plant Hunter raincoat is terrific - it has withstood wind and rain on the South Downs and has kept me warm and comfortable whilst out with the dogs. The long length is perfect for keeping trousers dry. Excellent value for money - thank you!

Posted by  •  27th December 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

great coat

So now I've fully tested it thanks to the snow the other day I can write a review. It's very warm and toasty even with a thinner jumper on, however it hasn't been completely waterproof although admittedly it was a bit of a deluge. The cuffs get very wet and as I was wearing a small back pack (no waterproofing) it seemed to lessen the waterproofing and I got a bit wet where the bottom of the backpack touches the coat. As i usually wear one this might be a problem. I've upped the tech direct a bit and am waiting to see if that has helped. It was fine int he snow the other day but I didn't have my back pack on so that's still something i need to test. Apart from that it's been perfect, looks good on walks and in town, and drew admiring looks form the nurses when I went to get my flu jab. I like the big pockets but agree that the inside phone pocket would be more useful above the waist. Like many others I did find the arms a little tight so perhaps that could be more generous but overall I'm very satisfied with my coat, it has been a very good replacement for my much more expensive walking coats and am now looking to buy a summer weight version.

Posted by  •  26th December 2020

Comments:

Dear jude,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

This coat is everything I wanted and then some!

This is seriously the best coat that I have. It is warm, waterproof, fits well and looks great. It's a great investment that I am sure will last me many wet winters. Highly recommended.

Posted by  •  25th December 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Bitter Cocoa

I've been waiting for the plant hunter to come out in a colour that suits me well, other than navy, and this is it. The bitter cocoa blends in with the earth so it's perfect for watching wildlife and I just love it! Really happy with the fit and detail too.

Posted by  •  24th December 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

plant hunter coat

It does exactly what it says on the tin!!! Went out in torrential rain and only my ankles got soaked. The rest of me was bone dry and cosy. Just what I wanted.
I buy from Seasalt on line because I know my size and it's always correct.

Posted by  •  23rd December 2020

* * * * *

Absolutely perfect

It is a beautiful rain coat, color is exactly like the picture. I used the “find your size” bit to select mine and I got the one it was suggested (8) and was worried it was going to be too small. But no, it is just perfect. I use it in a rainy day and water just slipped through and it was warm and comfortable. I’m absolutely happy about my purchase.

Posted by  •  22nd December 2020

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Ok coat

I really like this coat. Truly waterproof, warm but not too warm and good length. My only negative comment is that I’m 5’7’ and the sleeves are about 2 inches too long for me. I honestly don’t know what design reason for this is. If I fold the sleeves back, the poppers are really sharp on the inside of the sleeves and have actually cut my wrist

Posted by  •  21st December 2020

Comments:

Dear Kathie,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry to hear of your issues with the coat sleeves. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team



Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love it

I looked at this cost many times and then decided to purchase it mainly because of the continuing wet weather. I was concerned about the length because I'm only 4ft 11 in but after reading the size guide ordered my usual size. It's a great fit and we'll worth the money. Thank you Sea salt I am now a dry warm dog walker.

Posted by  •  21st December 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

All round winter coat

My coat arrived on Saturday and today, Monday was the perfect day to try it out.....cold, blowing a gale and pouring with rain. It fitted well, just a tad too long in the sleeves, but then I’m only 5’2”. I just turned them up a notch. There is room for a cosy jumper, hood the right size, warm and kept me dry from top to just below the knee. I felt cocooned against the weather! I love it, thank you. Stylish too, which isn’t always possible when dog walking 😂.

Posted by  •  21st December 2020

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed