Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £99.95 - £150.00

MSS March 2021

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1675 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1675 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Sad to return

The search for the perfect waterproof winter coat continues unfortunately. I had high hopes that the Hunter raincoat would be ‘the one’ but sadly, even though I ordered the size 8 petite, the sleeves were too long and I just felt swamped by it, so sadly, I have returned it. It did appear to be a good quality item and I’m sad that it didn’t work out for me.

Posted by  •  14th February 2021

Comments:

Dear Ren,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

The gamble paid off!

I ordered this coat in a size smaller than usual after entering my details into the sizing guide. I’m so glad I did, the coat fits beautifully, large enough for a warm jumper, but not too tight. The coat is so well made and has kept me warm and dry throughout the recent snowy weather. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a substantial, yet lightweight winter coat.
My one tiny criticism would be the pocket flaps. Putting your hands in the pockets makes the edges curl as flaps are wider than the opening. If the flaps could be designed to fit flat within the pocket, that would solve the issue, but this really is a very minor point!

Posted by  •  14th February 2021

Comments:

Dea LoBo,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Beautiful

Beautiful colour and great quality/ fit! Love it

Posted by  •  13th February 2021

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Love it!

This coat is soft, warm and comfortable. It is quite light so I have been layering up underneath as the temperatures have been sub zero with an icy easterly wind, I have been lovely and warm. The hood stays up which is a real bonus. I think I’ll be wearing this coat through spring and autumn too. I love the slate colour. Definitely recommend.

Posted by  •  13th February 2021

* * * * -

Two thumbs up

Hello from Seattle, Washington.

I would recommend this coat! I bought a Plant hunter coat in Midnight blue., a size down from the recommended fit finder guide. in petite. The color is true as depicted in photo. The coat cut is very stylish, minimalistic, and light in weight. I am 5'5'' and the coat comes to my knee length. Excellent for our rainy Seattle winter of 40s -50s Fahrenheit as well as for Seattle snow weather in the 20s Fahrenheit. It keeps me quite comfortable with just an additional layer of zip-up sweatshirt. The two front pockets are plenty deep enough to cover past my wrist.

There are two things that I would recommend to the design team to make this coat perfect: internal cuffs for added covering from the wind and dampness and a deeper hood. Currently, when I wear a knit beanie, the hood does not come over for full head protection.

Posted by  •  13th February 2021

Comments:

Dear Hong,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Great coat- keeps you warm and dry

Just bought one of these as a present for my Mother in law. She has always admired mine, which I’ve had for over 5 years now and it’s still going strong. She is a plus size, and really struggled to find a women’s coat that was warm and didn’t bulk her out. She is over the moon, and the green colour is beautiful. The toggle on the waist is a great feature, and it gives her a waist rather than looking boxy. The coats are a bit bigger, so I would size down from your normal size.

Posted by  •  13th February 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Superb

Best coat I have ever owned. Thrilled with quality and warmth but still feels lightweight. Bring on those wet and windy days .

Posted by  •  13th February 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Best coat ever

This is honestly the best coat I have ever bought. I'm a teacher and the day after it was delivered I was on playground duty on a cold, damp, windy day. I was as snug as a bug in a rug! It has also kept me dry in torrential rain. I can't recommend this coat enough.

Posted by  •  11th February 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Worth every penny

Originally ordered a regular size 10 and felt a little swamped (I’m 5ft3) so reordered in petite and I love it. Really warm, stylish without being too fancy (wanted for long dog walks) and keeps me dry. Also like that it’s not a heavy coat.

Posted by  •  11th February 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Plant Hunter Raincoat

My daughter and I both love these raincoats, purchased essentially to wear walking the dog. They are both warm and waterproof and look great. She chose midnight and I the Bitter Cocoa. ( would have loved the oak but out of stock).
We bought sizes 10 and 12 respectively and they are true to size, roomy enough to accommodate cozy sweaters without having to up a size. I’m sure we will enjoy them for years to come and we are delighted.
Many thanks indeed for the most generous nhs discount, so much appreciated. Thank you.

Posted by  •  11th February 2021

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed