Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £99.95 - £150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1676 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1676 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Don’t bother

After less than a year this coat started to rot/fray at the cuffs.
A very comfortable jacket that keeps you warm and dry, but at £150 for less than a years wear ( only worn in a few winter months), with only one wash at the recommended temperature using Nikwax, don’t bother!

Posted by  •  14th March 2021

Comments:

Dear AJ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your coat but we're really sorry to hear that it's not perfect. We work really hard to make sure our garments are of the best quality, however when something doesn't meet the high standard that we'd expect, we aim to resolve it promptly for you.
Our customer service team will get in touch to make it right.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Disappointed

I had one of these coats that lasted me years, it finally wore out and I bought another. Unfortunately they’ve changed the fabric and it doesn’t wear well at all. I’ve returned two of these coats after a couple of months because the cuffs on the sleeves wore in holes - there was no extreme use, just daily wear on the school run, to work etc.
To be fair to Seasalt they have refunded me without any objection. I’ve now got myself a Janelle which hopefully should wear better!

Posted by  •  14th March 2021

Comments:

Dear HC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your coat but we're really sorry to hear that it's not perfect. We work really hard to make sure our garments are of the best quality, however when something doesn't meet the high standard that we'd expect, we aim to resolve it promptly for you.

We believe that our Customer Services team has already been in touch but if you need anything else, do get in touch. Call 01326 640075 or hop onto a chat at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

I love it!

This parka surpassed my expectations. Even though it feels thin, it's super warm. I love the pattern (plant) and the fit is great. Definitely recommend it!

Posted by  •  13th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great coat Tall fit

Delighted with purchase, great coat for spring/autumn rainy days. Room for thick jumper for winter. Tall fit, great sleeves, waist adjustment seems a bit high in my 5’11” but can live with that.

Posted by  •  13th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great Coat

This is the first time I have purchased from Seasalt and I was not disappointed. Being a larger lady I was concerned that if the sizing was a little on the small fit the coat would be too small but I need not have worried it was a perfect fit. I live in SW Scotland and have worn the coat on numerous occasions recently in the pouring rain and it keeps me warm and dry. I love my Plant Hunter coat and will certainly be purchasing from Seasalt again. Only improvement I could suggest would be with your packaging bags. When the coat arrived the brown bag was opened and the coat was exposed, fortunately there was no damage to the coat.

Posted by  •  13th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

This coat is a winner

Seasalt, you don't make it easy. I couldn't decide on which coat or colour, you spoil us. After sifting through reviews I decided on the Plant Hunter, and it's the right choice. As I'm comfy 18 standing at 5' 6, the length is great.... Just above knee at the front, slightly lower at the back, so not too long that swinging a leg over a stile gets tricky.
A detachable hood would be the only feature I'd wish you poach from your other styles, apart from that I love this very warm but lightweight coat.
Discount for teachers has been a treat too, so thankyou very very much.

Posted by  •  12th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Fab coat

Tested this on my dog walk today I horizontal rain and a gale. The first truly waterproof coat I've ever had. Due to the length, only my knees got wet and the hood stayed up. Lovely furry inside too. I love it.

Posted by  •  11th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Comfiest Coat!

I had to return my original plant hunter coat due to a fault however SeaSalt were extremely helpful and quick to send out a replacement coat. I purchase two SeaSalt coats every year and have found that the plant hunter coat is the most comfortable. I walk for four every day in all weathers with my cocker spaniel and find this coat to be both warm and waterproof. It is not a fitted coat like other SeaSalt designs but if you want the ultimate in comfort coats, I would recommend the plant hunter. I am five foot 7 and went for a tall fit. It covers the knee area but is not too long. I also chose the Oak colour which is a green/mustard shade. A really striking coat. Well done Seasalt.

Posted by  •  9th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

A qualified thumbs up to the tall range

The size 16 Tall was almost perfect for me with good length in the body and sleeves, although the waist draw string is an unfortunate empire-line. As long as I don't draw it in the coat looks ok.
There are a lot of tall women out there (I'm 6ft but many are taller) looking for clothes that fit, following the failure of our regular retailer. I would say to your design team that a tall range should be proportioned for long bodies all over, not just by adding extra sleeve and hem length.

Posted by  •  8th March 2021

Comments:

Dear One of many tall people,

Thanks for your review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love it!

This is my first Seasalt purchase and I love it! I walk the dogs everyday and need a warm and waterproof coat. So far it has only been tested for warmth but I’m sure it will rain soon. I have purchased the Nikwax tech wash separately and would suggest it is offered at check out as an add on. I look forward to putting my Planter coat through it’s paces.

Posted by  •  7th March 2021

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed