It looks like you're visiting from United States of America

or
Beachcombing Coat
Click image to zoom

Beachcombing Coat

£140.00

Tin Cloth

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
Seasalt Offers

View delivery options

  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

Our Beachcombing Coat features magnets. These can interfere with pacemakers or ICDs, unfortunately this coat isn’t suitable for anyone with one of these devices

A stylish, contemporary raincoat in our famous organic cotton Tin Cloth® with subtle adaptive features. Our Beachcombing Coat is deliberately oversized and has taped seams, offering plenty of coverage against the elements and room for layers underneath. Every detail has been carefully considered, so it’s as easy to wear and slip on and off as possible. The front zip has a large looped pull and a bottom loop to help do it up, while the front placket has a clean finish with magnetic popper fastenings which will hold the coat closed without needing to fasten the zip. We’ve also given it slightly wider armholes and a curved hem with large side splits for ease of movement. It's finished with a chest pocket and easy entry side pockets with magnetic fastenings.

Our Tin Cloth® is made from hardwearing organic cotton with a hi-tech waterproofing treatment for a soft yet hardwearing finish. We’ve improved the fabric this season, giving it a softer feel so it’s even easier to wear. The upper body and hood are lined in cotton jersey with nautical yarn-dyed stripes, while the lower body and sleeves are lined in polyester. Roll back the notched cuffs to change your look.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * - Rated 4/5 (41 reviews)

Average customer rating 4 out of 5, based on 41 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Great jacket

The only reason this did'nt have 5 stars is because of the sizing. I know it is meant to be loose but I am a good size 20 to 22 but it was absolutely huge however the next size down is perfect. Still plenty of room in it. A comfy good looking rain jacket and I am very pleased with it.

Posted by  •  13th May 2019

Comments:

Thank you for your review of the Beachcombing Coat, I'm sorry to hear that the sizing wasn't initially perfect for you.
If it helps, we list detailed measurements on the size guide next to each garment, or if you prefer, our customer service team would be pleased to help with specific sizing queries. Call 01326 640075 or hop onto a chat at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk


Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Lovely coat

I love this coat - it's a bit big at the top but that's because I'm pear-shaped, so it fits from the waist down but is bigger at the top. This, however, is a plus because I can wear thick jumpers under it in the winter. I love the colour (a gorgeous teal) and although the sleeves are a tad long, I just roll them up. I love the unusual magnetic fastenings, too. Very well made and comfy when sitting down.

Posted by  •  19th April 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

oversized coat

A lovely coat but you need to go down a size, or possibly even two to get a good fit. I ordered on line, and as it was too big, returned it and went to the shop to try on other sizes. the sizes are in ranges, 16-18, 20-22 etc so it makes getting the right size tricky. Even taking account of its style, this is a very oversized coat!

Posted by  •  29th March 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

just too big

Really sad to have to return this jacket, but it is just too big. At 5'7" and size 18 -20 I hoped the 16 - 18 would be just the right size but it was huge on me. I'm not sure if I will try a smaller size or a different style. Also not sure I liked the magnetic popper.

Posted by  •  15th June 2019

Comments:

Hi Pippa59
Thank you for your review of the Beachcombing Coat but I'm sorry to hear that the fit wasn't perfect for you this time. Some of our garments are deliberately designed to be oversized. We'll detail this next to the product and we'd generally recommend ordering your usual size, the garment should fit and drape beautifully.
If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.
Do take a look at our https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/waterproof-jackets-raincoats, we're sure you'll find another raincoat that you'll love.
If it helps, we list detailed measurements on the tab next to each garment, or if you prefer, our customer service team would be pleased to help with specific sizing queries. Call 01326 640075 or hop onto a chat at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk
Best wishes Seasalt



Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Not quite right

The fabric and colour were great but the flaps seemed a bit fiddly. It fit well but in the end i went for a different style of raincoat that suited me better.

Posted by  •  31st March 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Unflattering

I was looking for a lighter-weight rain-proof coat for dog-walking but found this too big and shapeless, despite ordering a size smaller based on the other reviews. The proportions were also wrong for me - too wide and not quite long enough. The pocket detail across the middle was unflattering and the uncloseable side splits would let in rain. I returned this one via my local Seasalt store.

Posted by  •  24th August 2019

Comments:

Thank you for reviewing the Beachcombing Coat. We're sorry to hear that it wasn't perfect for you this time and of course we'll arrange a 'no quibble' refund for you if you'd like to pop it back to us using your free post label.

We've got some beautiful coats in our 'Rain' collection, so do take a look...https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/waterproof-jackets-raincoats

Best wishes, Seasalt


Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Oversized

Sent this coat back - its at least a size maybe 2 sizes bigger than I needed. I wasn't keen on the fastenings, fabric or the colour - Dark Eden. Disappointing but not a problem given the ease of return policy.

Posted by  •  9th April 2019

Comments:

Thank you for your review of the Beachcombing Coat but I'm sorry to hear that the fit wasn't perfect for you this time. Some of our garments are deliberately designed to be oversized. We'll detail this next to the product and we'd generally recommend ordering your usual size, the garment should fit and drape beautifully.

We're always pleased to offer a full refund and we're glad to hear that you found the return process easy.

Do take a look at our Rain collection, we're sure you'll find another coat that you will love. You search in the 'Lightweight Raincoats' collection. https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/waterproof-jackets-raincoats/lightweight-coat

If it helps, we list detailed measurements on the tab next to each garment, or if you prefer, our customer service team would be pleased to help with specific sizing queries.

Call 01326 640075 or hop onto a chat at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk
Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Disappointing

I thought this looked great in the photos , very stylish and with a nice swing. However, I think the fabric is too thick and stiff for the style: it didn't swing and the flaps at the back stuck out awkwardly. Also, it seemed rather large. With regret I returned the garment which I thought would be ideal as a light raincoat to take to Paris for the weekend.

Posted by  •  1st April 2019

Comments:

Dear Vicky,
Thanks for your review of the Beachcombing Coat; sorry it wasn’t perfect for you on this occasion, and you were able to take advantage of our no quibble return policy.
I will certainly feed your comments back to the design team for their consideration.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Oversized!

When I received the coat in what I thought was my size, it absolutely drowned me so I returned it and ordered a size down. This also was way too big so that was also returned. As I was due to go on holiday and wanted the coat to wear then, I travelled to my nearest store which is about a 50 minute drive, I tried on the next size down again, this time it fitted but as the fabric is quite stiff, it looked “boxy”around the shoulders. So this coat is not for me!

Posted by  •  28th March 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Disappointing fabric

Actually very disappointing all round, first problem is that like many people I hate multiple sizes that never ever seem to fit me. The colour was very dark green and with the strange oversized shaping did nothing for me. I found the fabric to be very stiff and it was covered in dozens of thread ends from manufacturing. Please bring back the lovely Porthchapel coat preferably in some brighter shades such as fuschia and jade - we don't all like murky colours, living yards from the sea as I do I like to be seen not invisible.

Posted by  •  13th March 2019

Recently Viewed