Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

£150.00

Up to size 28

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1593 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1593 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Nice but the colour is bizarre

Had to return this, as although the quality was nice and fit was ok, I ordered the 'oak', which looks pretty similar to mustard-yellow on the website, but is actually more like a khaki vomit sort of colour.

Posted by  •  21st February 2021

Comments:

Dear Caz,

Thanks for your review and for your feedback regarding the colour. We do try to represent colours accurately but screen resolution settings can affect the colours you see when browsing a website. We'll have a look at this one to see if we can adjust it slightly.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Brilliant coat

I searched for ages for the perfect coat. This is it. It looks good, it’s light and easy to wear, and it does everything I need - it’s truly waterproof and wind proof, thoroughly tested this weekend in horizontal Scottish rain and 40+ mph winds. The hood is snug and stays in place. It’s lovely and warm but doesn’t get too hot when walking. And there’s room for layers underneath if it’s really cold. It’s brilliant. Thank you!

Posted by  •  21st February 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great coat

Love this coat. Great length just on the knees. Bought it for volunteering at a very exposed Mass Vaccination centre in Cornwall. It’s kept me warm and dry. Love the colour and fit. Not too bulky. My favourite coat so far.

Posted by  •  21st February 2021

* * * - -

Its me not you

I was so looking forward to getting this coat but sadly it wasn't for me.
I ordered size 14 regular and the sleeves were way too long. Also found the running vines colourway a bit dull. Returned with regret.

Posted by  •  20th February 2021

Comments:

Dear Roo,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

I LOVE THIS

I really wanted a warm winter Mac and ordered the Janelle, it was lovely but too ‘neat and smart’ for me. I loved the Plant Hunter in Oak but it was constantly out of stock so ordered navy in 12 and bitter cocoa in 10. Navy arrived, the other didn’t, but I tried on the navy 12 and YES it is too big for me but also YES this was the size and look I wanted. As luck would have it, Oak became available, I snapped it up fast! Blue and brown sadly going back (when brown arrives) but my beloved oak PH is going NOWHERE 🥰
If you don’t want oversized big ol’ parka look, size down (I’m a size 10 with a large chest) but I love my size 12 ❤️

Posted by  •  20th February 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Light and warm

Being new to Seasalt, it took me a while to choose this coat, especially as I was not familiar with the sizing. I filled in all the required info on the size guide and went with the recommendation, which was pretty spot on. The coat is a good size and easy to wear. I could still layer up underneath if needed.
The hood is great. Just the right size and warm. The coat is surprisingly warm for it's weight. Certainly fine for 8 degrees and rainy, as is usual for us, without extra layering. The outside is possibly slightly more crinkly than I had anticipated, but is not a problem. I have worn it in heavy rain a couple of times and have stayed cosy. Very pleased. Thank you

Posted by  •  19th February 2021

Comments:

Dear Gee,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Superb winter coat

Brilliant winter waterproof that’s warm & stylish without being heavy & bulky & as expected is usual great Seasalt quality. Hood fits well and is really cosy. My size 10 lighter weight coat is slightly tight with winter jumpers underneath so went up a size for a little extra room. At 5’11” the waist is slightly too high but not an issue, sleeves perfect length.
One minor improvement would be for slightly larger inside pocket as new mobiles are too wide to fit.
Please can we have more of Seasalt range in Tall .

Posted by  •  19th February 2021

Comments:

Dear Jigs,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: Small Fit
* * * * -

Sizing guide put me off

I really like the coat and it is comfy and warm. I would always buy a 14 but the sizing guide indicated a clear 12, which I then had to return. I find the zip awkward as you have to zip with your left hand, due to the flap. There is also no inside zip pocket for valuables, which is a shame. Otherwise colour, style and warmth is excellent.

Posted by  •  19th February 2021

Comments:

Dear Rebs,

Thanks for your review but we're sorry to hear that you've had issues with the sizing, we will be sure to pass your feedback on to our design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Proofed

This lightweight petite size 16 rain proof coat is just right for my height 5’2, the sleeves are long enough to cover but thankfully not over long. I had returned size 14 because I wanted to be able to fit other layers underneath. Tried it out in driving Dorset rain last weekend and stayed dry, it’s definitely wind proof, the hood is big enough for me. I’ve just bought a longline fleece coat to wear under this for colder conditions, although the body of the coat is quilted, and hood fleece lined, my arms felt cold in the recent cold snap despite several layers underneath - the sleeve lining material is thin. If I were to make an improvement it would add inside chest pocket, add thicker arm linings and inner knitted wrist cuffs. Overall though I’m pleased and it’s a good investment.

Posted by  •  19th February 2021

Comments:

Dear Red Flannel,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback. We'll be sure to pass your suggestions on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

My winter warmer!

I love this coat, I walked the dogs in wind, rain and snow. It is definitely water proof and wind proof. The fur line hood keeps the ears warm when you have forgotten your woolly hat. Plenty of room to layer up inside too!

Posted by  •  19th February 2021

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed