Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £85.00 - £150.00

Up to size 28

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1588 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1588 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Lots of compliments

Love this coat and now wonder what I wore before I bought it. It's lightweight but warm and waterproof. I love that it has a good size hood so I don't need to carry an umbrella. I have had lots of complimentary comments about the style. Good fit. Versatile and good value for money.

Posted by  •  17th February 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Just what I wanted!

I bought this coat having searched for something suitable for ages! It is light and warm, brilliant for the wet, cold British weather. I am approaching my 60th birthday, my 21 year old daughter loved it so much, she ordered one too! Both of us have had many compliments and enquiries as to the make of the coat. Love it!

Posted by  •  16th February 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love this coat

I thought this coat was on the pricey side but it really is worth every penny. It is very versatile and is equally suited to quite formal occasions at work and walking the dog. I have had a lot of use already and it is light enough for the spring and even chilly or wet summer days. I sized up - from 12 to 14 - so that I can wear a jumper or gilet underneath and that worked well for me. A 12 would have fitted too I think as it's quite generous. Just buy it!

Posted by  •  15th February 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Warm, dry and cosy!

My daughter has a Jonelle coat in size 10. I tried that on but it was too tight. I've been looking for a useful but stylish coat for cold, wet and windy conditions so visited my local Seasalt shop. I tried on the Jonelle in size 12 but at 5ft 3ins it looked too long. I bought the Plan Hunter coat in a 12 but when I took it home decided it was too big so changed to a 10. I can still get a thick jumper on underneath. I love the coat, especially the hood which stays on without obliterating my view; and the two way zip. For me the sleeves are too long and an extra fastener would make it possible to secure them better around my wrists so they wouldn't come down so far and they'd be more snug in bad weather. The only major design fault for me is not having a secure, easily accessible pocket in the upper body, eg next to the zip, in which to keep my mobile phone and maybe a credit card. My other walking coats have this feature and I really miss it. My friend was so impressed with my coat she instantly bought a similar one to mine!!

Posted by  •  8th February 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Great coat but...

I love everything about this coat, it's a great colour, fits true to size, it's warm yet lightweight and goes with everything -however after a few months of wearing it all of the poppers have come off the back. I' m not particularly hard going on my clothes but the poppers seem to catch when you stand up from sitting on a bench for example. When the first one came off the staff at Seasalt helpfully sent me replacement poppers but I can't find anyone with the machine to replace them. I still wear the coat but am disappointed as it has lost its ability to look good with smarter clothes. If it weren't for this problem I would definitely give it 5/5.

Posted by  •  5th February 2015

Comments:

Hi Smithcullen,
Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat. I am so sorry to hear about the poppers on your Plant Hunter Coat and can assure you this is not up to our usual high standards. One of our customer service assistants will be in touch shortly to help further. Best Wishes from all at Seasalt.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Lovely coat and superb service

I bought my coat in exchange for a faulty item and was very impressed with both the garment and the customer service received. I would recommend both the coat, as a very practical addition to anyone's wardrobe, and the internet shopping experience at Seasalt.

Posted by  •  5th February 2015

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Love this coat

I love this coat it is warm due to the partial fleece lining. It is quite long for me i'm only 5'2 so comes to just above my knees. I love the hood that stays in place and the adjustable sleeves so no nasty breeze up your sleeve. If you like your coat slightly big to fit an extra layer then order your true size if not try a size down but the waist does adjust so may not need to.

Posted by  •  5th February 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love this coat!

I've been looking for a smart, but casual waterproof coat for ages and this coat fits the bill. It's light, but extremely warm and I've worn it almost every day since I bought it. The length is ideal as it sits on the knee and I can wear a dress or skirt without them showing below the hemline, which is usually the case with waterproof outerwear - most are usually mid-thigh length. Really pleased! Thanks so much.

Posted by  •  31st January 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great coat

I love this coat. I've worn it almost everyday since I bought it.

Posted by  •  28th January 2015

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Rainy day love.

I have found the ultimate coat. A coat that loves all weathers and can go from wet and muddy woodland to looking smart on the streets of the city. I spent a long time choosing which Seasalt coat to get but have definitely made the right choice here. The size (I am an 8) is just a little bigger but allows for a chunky jumper underneath. The length is also perfect and as I am short it falls nicely by my knees. I have road tested it up on the blustery Beachy Head and it really is windproof and I have yet to feel wet in a downpour. Its also incredibly lightweight and packs to nothing if you are travelling. Love my Plant Hunter!

Posted by  •  22nd January 2015

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed