Plant Hunter Coat [prod_sticky_add_basket]
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

£150.00 £99.00

MSS March 2018
Size Guide

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed fit, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements! Made from gorgeously soft melange polyester, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. We've given it plenty of padding to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter and a cosy, fleece-lined hood with a drawcord. It has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and and adjustable cuffs.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (543 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 543 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy
Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Brilliant coat - a pleasure to wear

I love my Planthunter coat and the pattern. I've have been wearing it on virtually all occasions this winter. I find it warm but not too warm and really comfortable. The coat is also very well made and the zip and fastenings are good quality. All in all it's a pleasure to wear

Posted by  •  27th January 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -


This coat ticks so many boxes, love the fit, the length, the style, the colour, the cute details like the anchor buttons, but I'm so disappointed about the dingy, cheap-looking fleece lining on the hood and inside the jacket. My first thought on taking it out of the bag was that I had accidentally been sent a coat that someone else had returned.
Sadly I'm returning as this is an expensive item, I can't justify spending £150 on a coat that looks like someone else has been wearing it before me.
Would definitely buy if the fleece looked better.

Posted by  •  24th January 2018

* * * * -

Not 100%waterproof

I think I have an earlier verrsion of this coat as it looks like mine but I don't have any padded lining, just a nice dark blue cotton check fabric. I don't feel the cold particularly so have found it plenty warm enough for winter. However, on a recent dog walk in heavy, persistent rain(but no wind) I found the wet had soaked through, down my front where the zip goes. I had previously taken out the drawstring at the waist - is this why I got a wet chest?. Is there anything I can do about this as I am otherwise very pleased with my mac.?

Posted by  •  23rd January 2018


Dear topsymo,
Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat; our customer services team will be in touch to offer further advise.
Best wishes, Seasalt.

* * * - -

Nice coat but not warm enough

I have been wearing this coat for the about 2 months now and while I think it’s a lovely coat it isn’t warm enough! The material is very nice and looks smart the length is great and it’s definitely water proof, the fleece lined parts are fine in fact sometimes they are too warm but the sleeves and the rest of the coat aren’t padded enough for a Cleethorpes winter walking my dogs along the coast when it’s about -2 to 3 degrees! The most annoying part is where the zip is it’s so thin the wind blows right through it even with a fleece under neath and I’ve had to put some tightening toggles on the draw cord to keep it gathered around the waist! I think I’ll have to invest in a warmer coat this year this one will be ok for autumn maybe but for £150 I was hoping this winter coat would be great for a few winters to come! And finally the phone pocket is not easy to get to in fact I keep my phone in the hand pocket I would prefer a left breast inside pocket!!

Posted by  •  21st January 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Plant Hunter coat

This is my third winter of wearing my Plant Hunter coat and I can honestly say it's the best coat I've ever purchased. Originally I had been considering the Janelle coat but on the advice of an assistant at the St Ives store I tried the Plant Hunter instead, which was much more suitable for my height of 5 ft 3. I usually over heat really easily but somehow this coat is just right and I now wear it for a large portion of the year. I would describe myself as top end of a size 14 generally but my coat is a size 12 and fits me well. Thanks Seasalt!

Posted by  •  11th January 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *


The arrival of this perfect parka put a big smile on my face. Just the job.

Posted by  •  4th January 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *


Mmmm!! Nice warm coat with lots of good features. It's attractive and the arms are long enough - which is good. I've been wearing this for a few weeks now so can give you a good report.

Posted by  •  21st December 2017

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Just the ticket

I’ve had my Plant Hunter coat for 2 winters and was so pleased with it my daughter purchased one for uni. It has proved invaluable with the cold of North Yorkshire and the wet of Manchester. An on trend colour for her looking ‘cool’ for her age. She ordered her size and we had to exchange for a smaller size and there’s still room to layer under if needed. I have worn mine for playground duty through 2 winters and been snug and dry, even in the worst weather.

Posted by  •  16th December 2017

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great coat

I love this coat. I wanted a warm waterproof coat for winter dog walking and looked at all the options available. Glad I chose this one. It keeps me warm and snuggly and dries off really quickly. Lightweight and comfortable. What more do you need ? Well done Seasalt

Posted by  •  15th December 2017

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love it!

Flattering fit and lovely quality. The colour is perfect and will go with anything. The buttons look classy against the fabric and the pockets are deep. Not sure how warm it will be in a minus temperature, but there is room to layer if needs be. Definitely a keeper!

Posted by  •  11th December 2017

Recently Viewed