Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

£150.00

Up to size 28

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1092 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1092 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Plant Hunter Coat

I wanted a knee length waterproof coat and this ticked the box. After reading the reviews decided to order my usual size, I tend to size up in coats so I can wear a thick jumper underneath but still move. Size 8 good fit and plenty of room for an Aaron jumper underneath. It’s light weight and feels cosy. Worn it in light rain and the rain just beads and rolls off.
I’m 5ft the length is good to the knee at the front and dips at the back to just below the knee so not an issue when walking. Some Seasalt coats are just too long for me. I bought this in the Firth colourway which is a muted dark green. Pleased with my purchase and expect it to last for many years. Even if it needs to be reproofed it’s not an issue for me as I’m used to re proofing waterproofs.

Posted by  •  13th October 2020

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

I just adore this coat

Took notice of other reviews and ordered a14-room enough for a thick jumper for colder weather. Style and colour are great and it’s not too heavy- have lived in it since it arrived!

Posted by  •  13th October 2020

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Best raincoat ever

I am thrilled with this raincoat. It is certainly the best I have every had. It looks great, is very well made and has already kept me dry and warm on several occasions. I followed advice on other reviews to buy a size smaller and this turned out to be perfect.

Posted by  •  13th October 2020

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Lovely coat

Lovely coat but unfortunately the sleeves were much too long for me so | had to return it. Wish they did this pattern in the petite range.

Posted by  •  12th October 2020

Comments:

Dear ELLE,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

So light and warm

I was buying online from abroad, so I could not try the coat on. I am very pleasantly supprised by its lightweightness. I am so glad I found the courage to order withoút tryping. I am marking it as true fit, but it has a lot of space for additional layers, too.

Posted by  •  12th October 2020

* * * * -

Almost perfect but for colour

I loved the quality of this coat - warm and apparently properly waterproof too - but was disappointed by the colour oak. On the website it appears as a greenish yellow but in reality it was not yellow at all and not the cheery pop of colour I was looking for. So sadly returned it.
I am a 12-14 and ordered a 14 which was a good fit but if the colour had been right I would have exchanged for a 16 as prefer a looser fit.

Posted by  •  12th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Leia,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time.
Thanks for your feedback regarding the colour. We do try to represent colours accurately but screen resolution settings can affect the colours you see when browsing a website. We'll have a look at this one to see if we can adjust it slightly.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team



* * * * -

Cosy

My petite size 10 is spot on although I would have liked a slightly longer sleeve length. I had to return my first purchase a size12 regular as it swamped me.....so alls well now and thankyou Seasalt

Posted by  •  12th October 2020

* - - - -

Sleeves too short

This is a lovely coat, but if you are tall with particularly long arms I wouldn't recommend. I unfortunately had to send it back straight away as the sleeve length looked ridiculous on me. Every time I lifted my arms or simply bent them, the sleeves would fly up to the elbow.

Posted by  •  11th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Beth,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it back.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team


* * * * -

All round coat

Lovely all round coat, perfect for watching football on a cold wet day. Size is quite roomy. I have given 4 stars as I wish I could have tried on a smaller size in petit. Other than that the coat is lovely.

Posted by  •  11th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Mira,

Thanks for your lovely review.
Although the Plant Hunter Coat is currently not available in our Petite range, we'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

* * * * *

Stylish and practical

I bought this coat as I thought it would be ideal for the current situation where we will be sitting outdoors in cold ,damp weather to drink coffee with friends.
I loved the coat as soon as I took it out of the package. It is a good fit,good length and warm too. Smart but casual and practical.

Posted by  •  11th October 2020

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed