Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

£150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1374 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1374 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

The best coat EVER!

This coat was recommended to me by a friend – I needed something waterproof and long enough to cover my work clothes on the walk to and from work. This coat is amazing! It’s knee length (I am 5ft 4) and keeps me warm and snug on my 30 minute walk. Hood is fantastic – not too sweaty and stays up. This coat is much nicer than the photos and I have had lots of good comments from friends etc. I was worried it would be a little frumpy and look like all the other unstylish waterproof coats out there, but the fabric is lovely and not “plastic” at all and the parka style and finish is good and looks very expensive. If in doubt, buy it – once you try this coat on you will never return it!

Posted by  •  11th November 2014

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Plant Hunter Coat

Love this coat! As with other reviews on the generous side but allows for winter woolies. Still waiting for the rain do can't comment on its waterproof claim. Have had many compliments from people after this coat. So keeping a firm hold on it.

Posted by  •  11th November 2014

* * * - -

Plant Hunter Coat

I was really excited to receive this coat as I've bought many things from Seasalt, all of which have been great. The peacock coat is a lovely colour and everything about it was great except the sleeves are too short. I bought a size 14 which fitted well everywhere with enough room for a jumper underneath, but I've had to return it because of the sleeves. Very disappointed and also a little fed up at having to pay £11 to return the coat. It's worth adding that my arms are not unusually long. All in all pretty fed up as I'll now have to find another coat and it's doubtful I'll find anything as lovely.

Posted by  •  11th November 2014

Comments:

Hi Vicky,

Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat. I am so sorry to hear that the sleeve length was not long enough for you. We do make sure that all feedback is passed on and taken into consideration for future seasons. We do appreciate that returning items can sometimes be costly and we do offer a collect plus returns option that is a set price and may work out more cost effective. At present we are unable as a company to offer free returns but we do take all comments on board. Best Wishes from all at Seasalt.

* * * * -

plant hunter coat

Echoing Lady of the Shires just right except for Wales read nort coast of Scotland! I'd have preferred it with a detachable hood, especially as it's so big with no volumiser at the back and I also wish that the soft teddy lining extended to the chin so that the cold metal zip didn't touch my face... Having said that I'm looking forward to wearing it on the boat to Orkney this weekend!

Posted by  •  8th November 2014

* * * * *

Fantastic all-weather coat

Beautifully made coat - real attention to detail throughout and amazing quality for the price. Lovely dark grey colour and the fleecy lining is super soft and snug. I love the little nautical touches - the anchor details on buttons, the knots on the tie pulls.

Usually a size 10 and the 10 fit well with space for layers underneath. The waist synch is great for adding a bit of shape to the coat.

First purchase from Seasalt and really impressed. Very quick delivery and super easy ordering process.

Posted by  •  8th November 2014

* * * * *

Love it

This is an absolutely lovely cosy coat that keeps you warm and dry. Only improvements would be to use a less clunky zip, put furry fabric in the pockets and move the daft phone pocket further up.
Other than that..it's perfect

Posted by  •  7th November 2014

* * * * *

plant hunter cout

does what it says in the description! lovely & light though warm-well made& finished-great colour too! so glad to have found you seasalt!! Ill be back for more goodies!!

Posted by  •  5th November 2014

* * * * -

My second review on this product

Having tried this on several times in a size 14, I phoned up customer services today and they suggested that I return the coat as the 14 is really too loose. I went to my local shop that sell Seasalt and tried one in a 12 and that was fine. SO THERE IS A PROBLEM .WITH THE SEASALT SIZING AS I AM A 16 IN A KELLIFRAY & NORTHSTAR COAT AND THEY FIT REALLY WELL. Pease would you take note of this for the future as it is very frustrating having to send everything back.

Posted by  •  5th November 2014

Comments:

Hi Clairette,

Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter coat. I am sorry you found the sizing larger than expected. We do have an individual size guide online for each product, as depending on the style the measurements may vary. I do hope this helps and if you do require any further help or information on sizing please do give one of our lovely customer service assistants a call and they are more than happy to provide more sizing information. Best Wishes from all at Seasalt.

* * * * *

tall order

What a tall order! I wanted a coat that was waterproof and windproof to cope with the worst Welsh winter weather whilst out walking our dogs. It also had to be stylish enough to wear into town when occasion demanded, bright to cheer up dull, grey days and practical with pockets for doggy paraphanalia - oh, and knee-length on a shorter lady (me) without looking like a jacket for a taller person. A tall order? No. I've finally found the garment that ticks all these boxes and the peacock plant hunter coat was put through its paces today keeping me toasty and dry in the first of the wet winter blasts. Highly recommended.

Posted by  •  3rd November 2014

* * * * *

As good as it looks

Lovely coat, waterproof, warm, comfortable, perfect fit. Casual and trendy.

Posted by  •  30th October 2014

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed