Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £99.95 - £150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1664 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1664 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Waterproof coat

Purchased in petite, glad I did as sleeves still quite long , only trouble in petite not many colors to choose from, however a nice autumn colour I would say and good length to keep legs dry and have been out in rain and very good resistance to rainfall , maybe could have sized down also , all in all happy !

Posted by  •  7th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great coat!

Grey coat. Warm, comfortable and waterproof. Colour is a bit less blue in real life but still lovely.
I’d been searching for a good, waterproof winter coat that was also stylish, for ages and now I’ve found it!

Posted by  •  6th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Mrs

Great coat, love the colour, it is a great length for me even the arms despite only being 5ft 2in, keeps you dry and warm but you do not over heat. great value for money as well.

Posted by  •  6th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Great colour!

After much deliberation I finally ordered this in my usual size 10 in Oak. The colour is really lovely, and as I'm fair like the model shown it was very flattering. However I found the fit was rather 'relaxed' for me, even with the waist pulled in, also I didn't feel it was long enough at the front, although it looked OK with jeans I would occasionally like to be able to wear it over a dress, and it just wasn't long enough for that. I sadly returned it in exchange for the Janelle coat, which is longer at the front, has a detachable hood, is a much neater fit and I love it! My ideal perfect coat would be a Janelle in the Oak colour way.

Posted by  •  5th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

just what I wanted

I bought the Plant Hunter Coat so that I can go walking in all weather. I have not yet tried it in the rain but it feels light, warm and windproof so far. The price was great value and the service excellent using recyclable packaging .

Posted by  •  5th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Beautiful colour but not very flattering

I bought this Plant Hunter coat in colour 'Mast' alongside the Janelle coat in colour 'Dark Wreckage' & if i could have a hybrid of the two, i'd have the perfect coat but unfortunately neither were quite right! I *loved* the colour & tin cloth texture of this coat, it was super cosy & a good length but sadly it felt quite shapeless & the pull cords at the waist were both awkward to use & not very flattering (unlike the really nice external tab adjusters of the Janelle coat), I also preferred the external pockets on the Janelle coat (felt designed to let in less rain). If i could have the Janelle coat's tailoring in this 'Mast' colour or a lovely bright yellow in this tin cloth fabric - perfect coat! I also wish you weren't seemingly always out of stock on petite sizes. Hopeful for the next round of coats!

Posted by  •  4th March 2021

Comments:

Dear Fuchsia,

Thanks for your review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Plant hunter coat

I ordered this to replace coats that had suddenly shrunk!. I love the colour and it is a great fit, big enough to wear over jumpers etc. It was half price with my blue light card.
Seasalt has been fab with blue light discounts and I have purchased quite a few items , so big thanks Seasalt and my custom will continue.

Posted by  •  4th March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Lovely coat. Please address colour issues.

Oak( more a mix of English and Dijon mustards?),size 14, regular.
After reading the reviews and with past experience of seasalt website and print images not always being too accurate,( for a trenwheal blue coat and navy leather boots ,including when ordered from a seasalt shop computer) I awaited my delivery with much trepidation . My coat has just arrived and I do really love it ,especially the colour. Luckily . And it is luck as it’s not the bright yellow of the website ,and reviews have described it in several different ways., so I wasn’t sure what I’d get .As many reviews have said, re this and other items, please please can seasalt address this issue, rather than merely sending the response saying you will see if you can adjust the colour depiction. We and your shop computers can’t all be wrong ,yet the issue continues. Surely, there should be no surprises on opening our purchases . Seasalt can teach similar companies so much re ethical practices ,fantastic customer service , holistic approach , but inaccurate colour depiction of some items let’s you down.
That said, it is a lovely coat, and I’m so pleased I like the colour and don’t have to return it , (but it was an anxious wait to see .)
There were no petites left but a 14 regular is true to size and not too long, as I’d feared , as I’m only 5 ‘ 2”. It comes to my knees but that feels fine .
Personally,I wouldn’t size down , just pull waist in a little if you want a more fitted look. It feels and looks like a well made , good quality and stylish not frumpy bad weather coat. Love the detailing on poppers and pull cords ,the contrasting fleece colour works ,and the pockets feel sooo cosy and plenty big enough.
I’m keen to go out in it and feel it will cheer up a dull, cold or wet day .
Ordering was , as usual, simple, efficient and fast . Just 3 days to arrive. Fantastic seasalt , thank you.

Posted by  •  4th March 2021

Comments:

Dear Cool gran,

Thanks so much for your review and for your feedback regarding the colour depiction, it's really valuable to us.

We have a robust method of passing this feedback to our Directors and decision makers and we'll ensure that your comments are included for their consideration.

Our products and collections are very much influenced by our customers - it's something we're passionate about!

If you have any other queries now or in the future, please see our Customer Service page on our website for lots of useful information https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/customer/contact
Alternatively, Chat with us via our website www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk or give us a call at Customer Services on 01326 640075.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Plant Hunter Coat

Mostly I am very pleased with this coat, completely waterproof and warm enough for the coldest day, with room for layers underneath, if necessary. The only flaw I found is that the lining of the sleeves is so bulky that it bunches up when I put my arms in and it is difficult to get my hands out! (Even when I discovered I could undo the three poppers on the cuff, it is still quite a struggle). Otherwise it's great....

Posted by  •  3rd March 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Loving my coat!

I’ve worn my plant hunter coat every day since I received it, and absolutely love it!
I was expecting a heavier winter weight coat and was a bit dubious as to whether it would be suitable for what I needed. But it’s perfect- large enough to layer underneath for colder windy days, light enough so I don’t overheat on slightly warmer days. Stylish and practical, Wish I could afford to buy it in other colours too!

Posted by  •  2nd March 2021

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed