Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

£150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1430 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1430 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

I love this coat

This is a beautiful, lightweight , warm and comfortable coat that does what is says on the tin. The hood is a good fi and often they aren't. I am keen on sustainability and well crafted clothes and this ticks a lot of boxes. The only thing for me is that the sleeves are slightly short. I am 5.4" and have size 12 but particularly long arms. I wonder if the cuff could be improved with an internal elasticated cuff to pull down on cold days. I would prefer another lining for the hood such as quilted as often fleece can start to look a bit tired. I will have to wait and see. I would recommend this coat and I look forward to wearing it every day. Buy it and enjoy

Posted by  •  18th January 2021

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Fantastic Coat

I love my new Plant Hunter coat. It’s lovely and warm without being bulky. Great for walking in the wind and rain and definitely waterproof. I bought the Midnight and love the colour which I’ve accessorised with different coloured hats and scarves. Thank you Seasalt my favourite coat yet!

Posted by  •  18th January 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Very happy tall 'girl'

Absolutely delighted with my new delivery - where I live outside of the UK I can't find clothes for tall women (I'm 5'11) so the anticipation had been high! I ordered a 12 Tall in Oak and the size is perfect. I particularly appreciate the longer sleeves as well as the lovely material. Excellent quality. Well done Seasalt.

Posted by  •  18th January 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love my new coat

I've been looking for ages for a fashionable waterproof coat and I've found it . First of all it IS waterproof !! I love the colour it's slightly greener than it looks in pictures but I like the colour more .its very cosy and comfortable and the legnth is great I'm 5ft 4 and bought the regular legnth I love it

Posted by  •  18th January 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great Coat!

I just love it! It does keep you warm and cosy, and it’s light at the same time. Protects me well in those windy and rainy days, thank you ☺️

Posted by  •  17th January 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Just what I'd been looking for in a winter walking coat

I've been looking for a warm but light weight, waterproof, longer length walking coat. This is perfect! I'm 5'9 and chose the Tall fit. It's perfect for walking. I love the cosy fur lined hood. The sleeves are quite long but mean I don't need gloves! Comfortable, wind and rain proof as well as stylish thanks SeaSalt yet again!

Posted by  •  17th January 2021

Comments:

Dear Jeannie,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Thrilled with my coat

I tried both the Janelle and this coat and am thrilled to have chosen the Plant Hunter (in Midnight) I wanted a truly weatherproof coat for dog walking that looked and felt good because I've had so many expensive mistakes in the past. I own a wax jacket and mountaineering waterproofs but nothing I can say is as comfortable to wear as this. I preferred the slightly shorter length of the Plant Hunter to the Janelle and as someone with arthritis, really appreciated the more conventional toggles to be able to draw in the waist and tighten the hood quickly and easily. The pockets didn't have the velvety feel of the Janelle coat but I actually like the smoother feel and they are wonderfully deep and well proofed against the weather. There wasn't an extra interior pocket apart from one to put your phone in but again it suited me fine. The fixed hood on the Plant Hunter is lovely and draughtproof with it's fluffy lining going down onto the shoulders. I find the hood is soft enough to roll back on itself to form a collar when not in use.. which is a bonus. The smooth lining on the rest of the body and sleeves allows me to pop the coat on and off with ease despite wearing thick wool sweaters and this really makes it a pleasure to wear rather than a chore to put on like some heavier coats I have. The fit is true to size although I did go up because I often wear umpteen layers if I go bird watching for hours on the Yorkshire coast. It wasn't necessary to size up at all because the design is generous around the shoulders and upper arms so easily accommodates thick clothing underneath. I've got long arms and found the sleeve length was great and the fastenings offered plenty of protection against the weather without being too constricting. Great when you're taking gloves on and off regularly. The quality of manufacture is superb and the lightweight but robust handle of the fabric is amazing. In the short time I've had this coat I've been out in sleet hail and snow. I've stayed dry and warm and was delighted that I didn't then overheat like I've done in other coats previously. The most remarkable feature of this and the Janelle coat is that they aren't at all bulky which makes them neat to hang up or store away and light to wear without any compromise to the weatherproof warmth. I really am thrilled with my purchase and couldn't be happier with the service I've received too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Plant Hunter or indeed the Janelle coats.

Posted by  •  17th January 2021

Comments:

Dear Fezzis ma,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Plant Hunter coat, we are so pleased to hear that you love it!

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Plant Hunter coat

Just got drawn leave Raven. It's a fantastic coat warm water proof and very stylish. Had very nice complements .
Well done again seasalt .

Posted by  •  16th January 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great coat

I love my new coat in running stitch fathom colour. I wore it out in pouring Scottish rain and wind today and stayed snug and warm. Sleeves on garments are usually too long for me but on this coat they fold back neatly, and the hood is just right and doesn't come down over my eyes.

Posted by  •  16th January 2021

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Plant Hunter coat

A very well made coat. I love the bitter cocoa colour and the cosy fleece lining. It's a tad snug on the hips for me but I've kept it as the next size up would swamp my shoulders. It arrived rather creased which is inevitable with the reduced packaging and time taken in transit. I'm hoping it will drop out.

Posted by  •  16th January 2021

Comments:

Dear Christine,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback.
We are sorry to hear that the coat was creased on arrival. We wouldn't recommend ironing the surface, as this might damage the special waterproof surface of the fabric. However, there is something else you might like to try: if your iron has a "continuous steam" setting (often used for items already hanging, e.g. curtains) this is extremely useful for reducing creases in garments. It's a similar process to the professional steamer machines used in many clothing shops.
Simply hang the coat up, then from a short distance away, use the continuous steam setting on a medium heat, to allow steam to penetrate the fabric without the iron actually touching the coat. It's usually very quick and effective.

Alternatively, you can hang the coat in a steamy environment, such as a bathroom for a short while. The creases should naturally fall out.
I hope this advice helps. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know. Call 01326 640075 or hop onto a chat at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed