Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £140.00 - £150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1009 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1009 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Much too large

A previous season coat from Seasalt fitted quite well even though I am only 5ft . I have tried 2 styles ( even going down a size from normal for me ) this year but both were much too long both in the arms and body length. I felt swamped. Petite fit would be lovely.

Posted by  •  4th December 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Not as described!

It was only yesterday that I wore my coat for the first time. Had I realised that the fleece fabric only lined the back top half of the coat, I’d have sent it back. But it was only while wearing it that I discovered that there is no fleece in the top half of the coat front. This makes the coat neither one thing or another. I am so disappointed

Posted by  •  18th November 2018

* * - - -

Not fitted enough

I really liked the look of this coat but unfortunately the fit just wasn’t right for me. There wasn’t enough structure to it so I just looked swamped in it. I’m 5ft9 so didn’t expect that. The sleeves were wide enough which was good as many coats too tight. The two way zip is a great idea. Had to return the coat though as the fit was just too loose.

Posted by  •  2nd November 2017

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Plant Hunter Lino Flower

Got this for Christmas as I wished for a cosy jacket to compliment my North Mac which I adore. Unfortunately the size is completely oversized and I had to return it. Bought it when there was 20% discount and think it is unfair that Seasalt do not do an exchange and I would have to pay the full price. Is this something the company would consider for the future as they must be loosing custom.

Anne

Posted by  •  30th December 2016

Comments:

Dear Anne,

Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat, we're sorry to hear that the sizing wasn't perfect for you,

Although we no longer offer exchanges, if you contact our Customer Services department, they would be more than happy to process the order of a different size for the discounted price.

Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

HUGE and rather shapeless...

I wanted a lightweight waterproof warm coat for the winter so I thought I would try the Planet Hunter. The coat looks like it is well made but it is huge! I have a size 12 bust so ordered a 12. It was so big that I ordered a 10 and it was still too big and shapeless that I am having to return it. I really wanted the Janelle coat but as I am only 5'2" I think it will be too long for me. Please can you make a Janelle coat for shorter ladies!

Posted by  •  8th October 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Plant Hunter Coat

Dear SeaSalt

I did not like the colour of this coat, I'm going to try for the Northstar coat which I had before in white, I'm hoping the black coat will get as many comments as it did in the white, but I'm very disappointed that I won't be receiving the free posting, it's not my fault that I didn't like the other coat. That has put me of slightly trying for the Nothstar coat.

Posted by  •  24th December 2014

Comments:

Hi Becky,
Thank you for your review, we were delighted our customer service team were able to help and offer you free postage on your Northstar coat. Best Wishes from all at Seasalt.

* * - - -

disappointed

Having read so many rave reviews I suppose I was a) guided by them and b) expecting perfection. BUT contrary to what many said, it is not oversized: I am size 18 and would normally buy a size 20 coat to accommodate thick sweaters so didn't in this case but it won't actually take anything thicker than an ordinary jersey, which is a pity because the quilting doesn't continue into the upper body part (reasons of economy?) and so is not nearly as warm, as I have noticed, as it could be. But the most annoying thing is that the zip is a complete nightmare - I can have up to ten goes before it will fit into its slot which is maddening if you are in a hurry.......maybe I've just got a defective garment, made where?

Posted by  •  8th December 2013

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Poorly manufactured

I bought one of these coats in September 2019 by the end of February 2020 the end of one of the sleeves had holes appearing in it. Loving the coat I wanted to exchange it for another. Seasalt don't facilitate this. You have to send it back for a refund and buy another one. Why they cannot set up an exchange system I have no idea. Other mail order companies do it. Anyway the new coat arrived and I was delighted. I have had it less than three weeks and the lining in the hood has become unstitched. (you can see where the machinist has not put in enough material) Now as I have only worn the hood up once, this is not down to wear and tear more that it has not been sewn together properly in the first place. It is such a shame because the coat itself is so comfortable. and completely waterproof. In fairness Seasalt have offered to refund it if I return it but I want a coat - not excuses. I shall get someone to sew it up properly and just not buy from the company again

Posted by  •  12th March 2020

Comments:

Hi BigBird
Thanks for sending your review for the Plant Hunter Coat, but were really sorry that the coats were not up to our usual high standard.
We're pleased that we were able to resolve the issue with the first coat, and will be in touch to resolve the problem with the 2nd coat promptly.
Best wishes
Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Avoid

I bought this coat at the beginning of the season. Although I love the coat itself the zip is total rubbish. I have just returned from yet another horrendously wet day and I'm soaked on the front as the zip refuses to work and splits as well as being very stiff. If you want to keep dry look elsewhere.

Posted by  •  12th December 2019

Comments:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your Plant Hunter Coat but we're really sorry to hear that it's not perfect. We work really hard to make sure our garments are of the best quality, however when something doesn't meet the high standard that we'd expect we aim to resolve it promptly for you.

Our customer service team will get in touch to make it right.
Best Wishes
Seasalt

Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

Disappointed

Apart from being very big and sleeve length to fit a giant, the fabric was much stiffer than expected and the style quite manly.I was sorry to have to return it.

Posted by  •  10th October 2019

Comments:

Hi Fussylady

Thank you for reviewing the Plant Hunter Coat. We're sorry to hear that it wasn't perfect for you this time and of course we'll arrange a 'no quibble' refund for you.

We've got some other beautiful raincoats in our new collection which might just be perfect so do take a look...

Best wishes
Seasalt

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed