It looks like you're visiting from United States of America

or
Janelle Coat
Click image to zoom

Janelle Coat

£150.00

NEW AW17

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

Our Janelle Coat is designed to withstand whatever the Cornish weather throws at us, so it will keep you warm and dry whatever the forecast. Simply styled and contemporary, this knee-length raincoat comes in a choice of versatile colours. The fit is relaxed but feminine, with room for layers underneath and tab adjusters to highlight the waist. The upper part of the coat is lined with cosy tonal fleece, while the lower half is quilted, for warmth and ease of movement. Packed with technical features and made to last, our Janelle Coat has fully taped seams, a two-way zip, adjustable cuffs and a peaked detachable hood, with adjusters to protect your face. Reflective strips on the back of the hood and the bottom of the sleeves help make you more visible after dark.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (362 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 362 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Love the coat but extremely disappointed!

I have just received the Janelle coat and I love it - it fits perfectly. However, I was disappointed to find that there is a fault with the reflective strip on the one sleeve. I called customer services to see how I could get a replacement/exchange - to be frank, I was disappointed at their response and inflexibility. The coat is not cheap and with Seasalt's reputation, I would have expected better quality control and better customer service!

Posted by  •  23rd May 2018

Comments:

Dear Sue L
Thank you for your review. One of our customer service team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Faulty Zip on Pocket.

I bought this Raincoat around thirteen months ago, and enjoyed wearing it this Winter - couldn't do last Winter as I was ill for three months so it didn't get worn then.

Unfortunately, I am now having problems closing the Zip on the Left Hand Pocket which I'm very disappointed with considering the Raincoat has not been worn much.

In fact, the main Zip at the front of the R/Coat is also a problem at times.

I did expect this Raincoat to last for years given it's price, and perceived quality.

Posted by  •  27th January 2018

Comments:


Dear Jan
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Disappointingly

Having previously purchased this coat a few years ago, I fancied a change of colour so is my second coat of this style. I was therefore very disappointed when the zip on the pocket recently broke. I have now reverted back to my older coat which is still going strong.

Posted by  •  8th December 2017

Comments:

Dear Dotty,

Thanks for your review; we’re sorry to hear that the Janelle Coat you received wasn’t up to our usual high standard. We have a rigorous process for testing our waterproof fabrics and taped seams and components to make sure that every raincoat we make is fit for the worse of downpours. For this reason, faults are rare and we always take any reported defects very seriously.
If you’d like to call our friendly customer service team on 01326 640075 or pop onto Live Chat on our website at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk. We’d be happy to discuss and offer further advice.

Best wishes, Seasalt



Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

waaayy too long

I really wanted this coat. Saw it online and then went specially to Lewes to buy it, but .... when I tried it on I was so disappointed. Its sooo long especially at the back. The front is just about OK but the rather unnecessary longer back was nearly skimming my ankles. Well I know I'm not tall, 5' 2" but neither am I abnormally short, I know lots of people my height especially older women, I'm 60, not that ancient, It was just too long. So I'm afraid I didnt buy. If only there were shorter lengths in Seasalt. I also have this problem with a lot of the dresses. So disappointing.

Posted by  •  22nd November 2017

Fit: Small Fit
* * - - -

Disappointing as not as good quality as previous janelle coat

Unlike previous janelle model,l i found this very disappointing & returned. With this newer style there is more chance of catching zip as less generous margin of material.. More importantly this peaked hood did not cover the front of my head as hood is much shallower than earlier style. Dark wreckage shade in this coat is not same as same shade in the lighter rainwear jackets-it is s lightly greener.

Posted by  •  5th September 2017

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

I wouldn't buy it again

The actual coat is good, but the zip has been driving mad from day one. The slider gets stuck and it takes ages to make it right, which it does not always happens. It is pretty sad that such expensive coat has such a poor zip. Mine is a black Janelle, so it is kind of previous edition. I only got round to write this review now. I hope the zip quality has improved.

Posted by  •  28th June 2019

Comments:

Hi Kicacar,
Thanks for your review of the Janelle Coat, but we're reallly sorry you're having problems with the zip
We use YKK who are the leading supplier of zips so it shouldn’t be an issue regarding the quality of the zip. The thing about 2-way zips, is that they can generally be a little tricky to do up, however, it’s all in the preparation!
With two way zips you need to ensure both of the sliders are right at the base of the zip (they will be on your left hand side as you wear it). They should sit together quite neatly, with no space in between the zip sliders. Ideally, the zip teeth above the sliders need to be as straight as possible (often this is tricky when you are putting on your own coat), but there is a knack, which with practice you will get.
Once you have slid the right side base of the zip tape into both sliders on the left side, and all is in-line, then you should be able to pull the top slider up the zip to fasten the coat. It may be helpful to hold the base of the zip with one hand, so they are stable, whilst you slide the top slider up – sometimes if the bottom slider moves slightly, then the tips are not perfectly married together, and the zip will not close, as the teeth are misaligned.
If you then want to open the bottom slider (in order to split the coat at the base of the zip) then do this as a separate operation, after you’ve fastened the top slider.
Hope this helps, but please don't hesitate to contact us on 01326 640075 if the issue is not covered by this advice.
Best wishes Seasalt



Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Not waterproof!

I bought this a few months ago but only really tested it in heavy rain this weekend and it leaked water through the hood and shoulders - not impressed!

Posted by  •  19th December 2018

Comments:

Dear Jane,
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


* - - - -

Purple Sieve

This coat is not waterproof:( all the seams leak it has only been worn 3 times!!

Posted by  •  21st October 2018

Comments:

Dear Wendy
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.

* - - - -

Warm but manufacturing problem

Love the warmth of coat, and wipes clean of mud, but only after a year of wear a popper has come off the coat and the zips on the pockets have broken. Too expensive to have faults like this happening and disappointing as my other seasalt coat has had no problems.

Posted by  •  24th March 2018

Comments:

Dear Nat
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.

* - - - -

Disappointing

Zips are poor quality - my pocket zip broke almost immediately
Lifetime guarantee doesnt apply apparently

Posted by  •  9th March 2018

Comments:

Dear sue,
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


Recently Viewed