It looks like you're visiting from United States of America

or
Bowsprit Jacket
Click image to zoom

Bowsprit Jacket

£120.00

Plus Size Tin Cloth

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

A stylish and fuss-free, hip-length raincoat in our famous Tin Cloth® fabric. Our Bowsprit Jacket has a simple, flattering silhouette, with a dipped parka-style hem, adjustable drawcord hood, zip and popper placket closure, cotton lining and turnback cuffs. Our Tin Cloth® is made from organic cotton with a hi-tech waterproofing treatment – our interpretation of an oilskin. This special Seasalt fabric is waterproof, windproof and breathable, with a soft yet durable finish. We’ve improved the fabric this season, giving it a softer feel so it’s even easier to wear. Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (306 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 306 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

* * * * *

Very impressed

Was very impressed with the quality and fit of this jacket. Good value for money. Very comfortable to wear .

Posted by  •  20th June 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Just the Job

I didn’t know it was going to pour with rain all through June, but how pleased I am that I bought this lovely raincoat. It fits beautifully and is ideal for Spring to Autumn, the blue stripy fabric looks great and the hood is practical without too much overhang. What a shame there isn’t a dedicated store a bit nearer!

Posted by  •  15th June 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Bowsprit jacket

I was a little wary thinking that to be completely waterproof it would be uncomfortably hot to wear. This is not the case. we've had the wettest few weeks recently , some of those days being warm and wet and the jacket was just perfectly waterproof and windproof, the hood also is a great fit and just didn't blow off in the wind. very pleased . Ill be buying another but longer for the winter.

Posted by  •  15th June 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Promising!

I like that the coat doesn't look or feel like a raincoat. Haven't got the change to take it out on a test spin in actual rain but had to try under the tap and it seems to really work. Sleeves are a little long but I think that's a good thing actually, especially for cycling.

Posted by  •  11th June 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love at first sight

I fell in love with this jacket for the first sight and I am totally satisfied with it. It's really good quality, true to size, nice colour and it works well in rain. Thanks!

Posted by  •  4th June 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Bowspirit Wreckage

This is my second Bowspirit Jacket - the other I bought a few years ago. The colour wreckage has been much admired a true dark green - my old jacket was more emerald; I like this better. I love the style; the new pirate fold up sleeves, the same fishtail back, the way it hangs - casual but smart. It has been out in some downpours. It has kept me dry and it is definitely windproof. I can close the top button and hide in the hood under such occasions rather than think whether or not I should venture out. I have the Plant Hunter Coat for winter and this is my go to for warmer seasons. It fits me well (as size measurements stated by Seasalt - always look at these before you buy & don't just pick your "usual" size). I will use Nikwax when I feel the need to wash it (no probs with previous Bowspirit or my Plant Hunter) - wool cycle in machine - this gets it clean and keeps it waterproof. I would not use an ordinary liquid even one for wool as it is really important to me to keep my jackets wind & waterproof. Highly recommended - if it is not for you then I have found items very easy to return items bought on line & get refund.

Posted by  •  29th May 2019

Comments:

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback.

Best wishes

Seasalt


* * * * *

Gorgeous jacket

I bought the green jacket, which I'm really pleased about, a gorgeous rich colour. Haven't worn it out in the rain yet, however looks to be fairly thick material that should stand up well against heavy showers. Lovely big hood which fits over my ponytail (rare in waterproofs!). I sized up one so I could wear a jumper under on chilly days, however the jacket doesn't feel voluminous when wearing just a lightweight top so it'll be great for summer showers too. Extremely pleased with it, and in the sale too!

Posted by  •  27th May 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Measure stomach NOT breasts! LOL!

If your stomach protrudes further than your breasts, use that to size, not your breasts! I am 5 foot one inch tall, 163 pounds and the UK 14 fits like it was tailored for me perfectly. I can wear a thin sweater underneath, and I could have sized up by one, but I do not intend to wear it for very cold weather. It fits absolutely perfectly. I measured my stomach, which protrudes furthest from my body. The arm length is perfect folded as is. A stunning jacket!! It is very slimming and the wine color is beautiful. I called customer service prior to ordering to pick a size for me based on my stomach protrusion. It fits true to size based on that. Perfect fit. If you need to fit bulk under, then size up by one. Have not worn it in rain yet. Shipped to Canada in only a few days. LOVE IT! THANK YOU!!

Posted by  •  17th May 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

lovely coat

This is a lovely coat, I personally like the longer cuffs with the option to fold over, great striped fabric and the sort of quality I expect from Seasalt jackets.

Posted by  •  25th April 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

v satisfied customer

Great quality, lovely colour, and v good delivery service

Posted by  •  15th April 2019

Comments:

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback.

Best wishes

Seasalt


Seasalt Tin Cloth

Our very own interpretation of an oil skin using hardwearing organic cotton canvas and a high tech waterproofing treatment.

Seasalt Tin Cloth

WATERPROOF CARE

1. Machine wash at 30°C with NIKWAX TECH WASH to keep your coat clean and breathable.

2. Every few washes, follow the tech wash cycle with another using NIKWAX TK DIRECT WASH IN to restore your garment’s ‘bounce off’ finish.

All our raincoats are...


WATERPROOF
5000mm
& fully taped seams

BREATHABLE
5000g
m2 / 24h

WIND RESISTANT
Tested on
Cornish cliff tops


Seasalt Raincoat Material

Recently Viewed