Downas Cove Coat
Click image to zoom

Downas Cove Coat

From £79.95 - £95.00

EOSS Dec 2020

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

100% Wool

Made from softly textured warm wool in a choice of gorgeous costal colours, our Downas Cove Coat has a fit and flare shape that looks equally good over dresses, skirts and trousers. It has a full button up front and stylish grown-on collar that pairs beautifully with one of our printed scarfs. Neat fitting, but with room in the arms and shoulders to comfortably layer up, it has handy pockets in the side seams to tuck your hands away from the cold, and subtly curved corners at the hem. The body is lined in breathable cotton, with polyester lined sleeves to help slip it on and off.

Customer Reviews
* * * * - Rated 4/5 (53 reviews)

Average customer rating 4 out of 5, based on 53 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Very chic

I bought the dark night melange colour , and its gorgeous !
I would say it's between black and very dark navy /grey .
I'm a size 8 in clothes and I bought a size 10 . I like my coats to have a relaxed fit . I can comfortably wear a nice thick jumper underneath , and the buttons down the front still sit nicely , with no straining . The sleeves are nice and long so you don't get a draught around your wrists .
The stand-up collar is very smart and elegant and looks fab with a pretty scarf peeping out . I'm 5 ft 4 " and bought the regular length and it falls just above my knees . The boiled wool is light , warm and very comfortable , equally the cotton lining in the body of the coat is very pretty and compliments the the outer coat . The sleeves are lined in a fabric with good slip . I find the coat very easy to slip on and off . In fact I prefer the cotton lining as I think with the wool outer it makes for a very breathable and natural feeling coat . Yes the cotton lining was creased when the coat arrived , but that's only what will happen when you wear it , hardly an issue . I definitely would not recommend ironing the creases out , just hang it on a well fitting hanger and enjoy wearing it !
Overall this coat is a beautiful made and finished very chic coat ........ Well done Seasalt !

Posted by  •  22nd January 2021

Comments:

Dear Yvonne,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Lovely coat

I bought this coat in the sale on impulse; I was actually buying the Saltstone raincoat and saw this was reduced .I am 5 ft 3" and bought the regular size as petite had sold out .I was worried it might be too big on the arms and length but it's perfect as I have room underneath for several layers if needed. I like the fit and flare style for a change from a classic college coat and feel very elegant wearing it. I can wear a dress(such as the Clovehitch) or a pinafore under it without it hanging down and the collar is perfect for a scarf underneath. I have felt very cosy wearing it during the recent very cold weather.
Please can we have a red or fuschia colour next winter?

Posted by  •  19th January 2021

Comments:

Dear Highlandlassie,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback. We'll be sure to pass your suggestions on to the design team!

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Beautiful coat

I love this coat. The colour (storm melange) is beautiful. It's not a heavy coat, more suitable to spring rather than winter. My only gripe is that I like the lining to be in a more slippery fabric to allow easier putting on and off. The cotton lining drags somewhat. Hence the 4 anchors instead of 5.

Posted by  •  16th January 2021

Comments:

Dear Longarm chris,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Lovely coat but too big

The colour Aran Melange is lovely, just what I have been looking for. I also liked the quality of the fabric. So sad my normal size 8 was too big for me, especially around the shoulders. The sleeves were too long as well. I had to return the coat but would buy it again in size 6 if available.

Posted by  •  14th January 2021

Comments:

Dear Natalia,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't the perfect fit for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team


Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

What a bargain!

This is a lovely smart, comfortable coat in a high-quality fabric which is so soft and comfortable.
I misjudged my size and would have got a size larger. I need a bit mre room to manoeuvre due to mobility issue.(So I'm saying true to size.)
This is a bargain of a seasonal coat.

Posted by  •  12th January 2021

Fit: Small Fit
* * * * *

Beautiful Coat

I had been eyeing this Seasalt Downas Cove Coat in Storm Melange since it appeared on the Seasalt website, so I snapped up the last one when I came across it in John Lewis's post-Christmas sale for half price. The wool is very soft, and the colour is beautiful, with depth and texture, and perhaps slightly darker and more muted than shown on my screen, but still with a little something special. I don't like my coats tight so I am happy with the loose fit in a size that is actually three bigger than my usual. I actually think it looks more elegant that way, and since I would say this coat runs small, it works out well.

Posted by  •  9th January 2021

Comments:

Dear Clarissa,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you love your coat!
Thanks also for your feedback regarding the colour. We do try to represent colours accurately but screen resolution settings can affect the colours you see when browsing a website. We'll have a look at this one to see if we can adjust it slightly.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Gorgeous

Love it! Beautiful colour (I have the storm melange), and love the shape of the collar. And glad to buy from an ethical company.

Posted by  •  8th January 2021

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Warm wool coat

I ordered petite size 8 in dark night color I am 160 cm and the coat fits very well. The lenght and waist line falls perfectly. It arrived slightly wrinkled but whit some careful ironing and hanging it is now fine. It is a very versetile coat that elevates my casual dressing. I was not sure about the neckline in the picture but I love it on me. The fit is definitly large I can easely wear a thick juper underneath. Since I like to wear coats over lighter layers I was thinking about going down a size but size 6 was already sold out. I hope the shoulders does not stretch out I am not sure they are stabelized enought.

Posted by  •  19th December 2020

* * * * *

Lovely coat

Storm melange great colour. I love boiled wool coats and jackets . I already own the Rennes jacket which is a very similar colour and I Love.
Smart very useful warm coat . Slightly fitted just on my knee I'm 5' 1" gorgeous lining .
Nice details in the cutting of this coat which make it special. Went a size down ( jacket 2 sizes down)

Posted by  •  15th December 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Downas Cove Coat

I love this coat. Lovely shade of deep blue, smart and will suit most occasions. I ordered size 12 regular and petite as I'm 5' 3.5". I've kept size 12 petite as the sleeves are just the right length. Thank you Seasalt for introducing petite clothes in some of your ranges. The coat is warm and my Seasalt scarves are perfect to wear with it.

Posted by  •  13th December 2020

Recently Viewed