Sailor Top
Click image to zoom

Sailor Top

£29.95

2 for £40 Soil Association

Just a few left - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

100% organic cotton. Certified organic according to Global Organic Textiles Standard by Soil Association Certification no DK17684.

Made from 100% organic cotton jersey, our Sailor Top is super soft, breathable and feels great against the skin. With yarn-dyed stripes inspired by traditional Breton tops, it combines effortless style with comfort. It’s finished with 3/4 length sleeves and a flattering boat neck. Great with just about everything, it’s an easy-to-wear top you’ll reach for again and again. Look out for new colours inspired by Cornwall every season.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (485 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 485 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

* * * - -

Disappointed

I have been buying these sailor tops since they first came out so I'm sad to say that the quality has deteriorated. The cotton is much thinner than before.
I would rather pay more for the usual good quality than have these substandard tops.

Posted by  •  8th May 2019

Comments:

Thank you for your review and we'll be sure to pass your feedback on.

We'd like to reassure you that we always use the best quality fabric available. For the warmer summer season, we do use some lightweight fabrics which are designed to feel soft and cool.

As always, we have a 'no quibble' refund policy, so just pop it back to us using the freepost label and we arrange a prompt refund.

Do take a look at our new collection https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/new-arrivals/all-new-arrivals we're sure you'll find something you'll love.


Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Drop in Standards

I have been buying the Sailor Tops since they first came out and I still have them all. They wash well and retain their thickness and softness. However I have just bought 2 of this season's tops and am so disappointed. The colours are lovely as always but the quality of the fabric is nothing like the old ones. It is much thinner, so much so that a dark bra can be seen under the mustard and white one.

Please go back to the good fabric. I would honestly rather pay more than have the quality reduced.

Posted by  •  29th April 2019

Comments:

Thank you for your review of the Sailor Top. I'm sorry to hear that you've noted a difference in fabrics between items.

Our Sailor Shirt has always been 185gsm single jersey. We do allow a small tolerance on this weight (as it’s not very ethical to throw large amounts of cotton away for being slightly over or under weight).

In our experience, we have noted that dye colours can influence the weight and hand feel of the fabric as well as washing and surface texture.

Older garments may feel thicker over time as the fibres fluff up which makes it feel fuller, dark colours are often heavier ( within our tolerance).

We do carry out strict quality control but sometimes you can find that one batch may be slightly under weight, while another is slightly over and then if you compared the two, you would notice a slightly different feel. We wouldn’t fail the goods for this, but would strive to improve in the next delivery.

I do hope this answers your query, please do get back in touch if you'd like further information.


Fit: Small Fit
* * * - -

Sailor Top

These are not the same quality as previous years - I have several, definitely smaller sized, shorter length and thinner.
I have kept them but not sure if I would purchase again

Posted by  •  18th April 2019

Comments:

Thanks for your review Suzanne, our Sailor Shirt has always been 185gsm single jersey. In our experience, we have noted that dye colours can influence the weight and hand feel of the fabric as well as washing and surface texture.
Older garments may feel thicker over time as the fibres fluff up making it feel fuller, dark colours are often heavier ( within our tolerance).
If you decide to, you can pop the tops back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: Small Fit
* * * - -

Smaller than previous years but pleased to see more colours

Firstly thank you for doing the 3/4 sleeves in more colours - these are my 'go to' top for most of the year, and I love the versatility of this sleeve length!
However I echo what others have said, the sizing has got smaller. I now have to order a 16 which is slightly too big, as the 14 is too snug across the arms/bust and too short. I have older versions of this top and the size 14 is a good inch bigger all over. I too have noticed that the newer versions are made in a different country.
So please continue to make, but check your sizes Seasalt! My older tops have also retained their size/shape, and these do shrink a little, even on a 30 degrees wash.

Posted by  •  29th March 2019

* * * - -

Mrs A. Nottm

Well made but nothing special. I know they are one of Seasalt big sellers but just not for me. Sent back.

Posted by  •  28th March 2019

* * * - -

Oh dear

Smaller than previously and jersey quality nowhere near as good. Not sure how well they will wash. Ok but won't buy more

Posted by  •  21st March 2019

* * * - -

So disappointed

It’s such a shame, I had high hopes for this top, i love the grey and white combo online. I have two from last year that are still going strong but this year the fabric seems thinner.. i can see my hand through the fabric! It’s so disappointing. Last years are far superior.
I also measured the size 14 against last years and there is about an inch difference which is such a shame because if I go up a size it will be too big. The labels state they are made in different places maybe that’s why? It’s such a shame you can’t get the sizing on these tops consistent, I know they are made by people and not machines but still a 14 should be a 14! I think seasalt you need to look at the quality of your fabric and sizing. I love your clothing and I wouldn't want to start shopping elsewhere...,

Posted by  •  16th March 2019

Comments:

Dear Maggiemay01,
Thanks for your review. What a shame to hear of your disappointment in the Sailor Shirts. We do try to keep our designs fresh and exciting so little changes are made to reflect this. I'll pass your feedback to our design team for their future consideration.
Our friendly customer service team are on hand either by email on contactus@seasaltcornwall.co.uk, by phone on 01326 640075 or by Live Chat via our website.
Best wishes, Seasalt


Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

a different cut to these tops Seasalt?

I have four of these tops (two long sleeve and two 3/4 length). Lovely colours, high quality fabric, and they wash well. However, I find this new lot has a different cut - with a flare at the hip, while the older ones were straight through the body (which worked better for me). Sadly had to return!!

Posted by  •  9th March 2019

Fit: Small Fit
* * * - -

Lovely tops but...

I ordered this in two colourways, size 8, but had to return the Cornish Hay because the combination of heavier fabric and inconsistent measurements especially at the waist hem meant that the one I received was smaller than the size 6 Sailor Shirt I ordered at the same time because size 8 had sold out. Customer service very helpful as usual in letting me order a replacement without losing the 2 for £40 discount, but while dithering over whether to try another size 8 or just go for a 10, the 10 has sold out... The other colourway is true to size but the hem stitching split the first time I washed it while being 'reshaped while damp' and will now have to be repaired by my inexpert needle before it comes unstitched :-(

Posted by  •  3rd June 2018

Comments:

Dear Pellegrina,
Thank you for your review of the Sailor Top. Sorry to hear the sizing wasn’t perfect, this doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. I understand you have already been in contact with our friendly Customer Service team and an acceptable resolution has been reached.
If we can be of any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate in contacting us by email, or phone our friendly customer services team on 01326 640075 or please contact us via Live Chat which can be found on our website https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk
Best wishes, Seasalt.


* * * - -

Disappointed

Have tried 5 size 12 marine stripe shirts and have given up. They are all too wide across the neck and just look sloppy. If not then they are too tight in the arms. Shame, I would have liked one

Posted by  •  31st May 2018

Recently Viewed