It looks like you're visiting from United States of America

or
Leach Mug
Click image to zoom

Leach Mug

£19.95

Just a few left - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

50% Cornish Clay from St Agnes 50% Ball Clay from Devon

Glazed clay mug. Designed and made in Cornwall by the world-famous Leach Pottery.

Our exclusive 'Leach for Seasalt' collection celebrates our joint love for simple, beautiful style and true craftsmanship.

Our pots and mugs are made using locally sourced clay from St Agnes in Cornwall and hand thrown in the Leach workshop.

This type of pottery is known as stoneware. It’s hardwearing, so if you treat it with care it should last a lifetime.

The full blue glaze colourway is finished with a dolomite glaze, which was used at the Leach Pottery in the 1950s.

The brushed glaze colourway has an ash glaze. As a natural ingredient, the ash used in the glaze can vary, so the colour of the glaze may be quite different from one mug to another; each mug is unique.

This product is handmade so sizes may vary slightly.

Unfortunately we are unable to deliver this product internationally.

Read about the Seasalt Bursary at Leach Pottery

Customer Reviews
* * * * - Rated 4/5 (35 reviews)

Average customer rating 4 out of 5, based on 35 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Lovely mugs

So glad to have found these gorgeous mugs so ordered two more . Only wish I could have visited the pottery to explore for more items. They make me look forward to that first hot cup of tea before even getting out of bed.

Posted by  •  13th May 2015

* * * * *

Lovely

Prompt delivery though very close to Christmas. Lovely mug, would use this site again.

Posted by  •  4th January 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great mugs

Lovely mugs to drink from, perfect size, and remind me of Cornwall and St Ives every time I use them.

Posted by  •  2nd January 2015

* * * * *

lovely mugs

Rustic mugs with lots of character. Will be ordering more. Have up cycled the jutes as hanging organisers in my pantry and they look fab. Chuffed to bits.

Posted by  •  15th December 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Amazing mugs

Just luv em, cosy to cuddle, just perfect

Posted by  •  11th November 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Luvly leach

Just luv these mugs, reminds me of home and my teenage working in St Ives

Posted by  •  11th November 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Love the mug, but mug glaze not as expected

I actually put the brushed glazed leach mug on my Christmas list, but I am a bit disappointed that it's nothing like the picture here on the website. I loved the white rim and white on the inside of the mug, however, the one i received as a gift is just greeny brown all over with a white slash across the middle. Practically, its lovely, but I think you should change the picture or actually give the white rimmed mug a different name, otherwise you will continually disappoint people as it's a lot of money to spend on an item for it to be so very different.

Posted by  •  20th January 2017

Comments:

Dear Katie,

Thanks for your review of the Leach Mug, we're sorry to hear that the colouring is not quite what you expected by looking on our website.

Our Leach mugs are all hand-made by Leach in St Ives. Therefore, they're all unique so although the same colours are used. They will also vary in colouring and pattern slightly.

Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Gorgeous but...

I bought 2 of these mugs, after I couldn't take it any more in the sale. I had wanted to try them for ages. The full glaze looks exactly as pictured, the other mug doesn't have a white lip, but is mainly a wood nymph greeny/brown colour except for the brushed glaze part. It is still lovely, and both are gorgeous to look at, especially with their bumpy even exterior. I have only used the full glaze so far, and the handle is perfect to hold, secure and nicely sized. It makes me want to drink.
Capacity wise it's around 400ml or more, so perfect for those who bought the older seasalt coffee cups but thought they were too small. Try this for size.

BUT, after less than a week of use, the base on the inside is crazed all over - it has been looked after like a precious heirloom, handwashed with care, no dishwasher and certainly no microwave. So why? Is this normal for these mugs? Does it mean the base will crack? :( And I SO love it...

Posted by  •  30th September 2016

Comments:

Dear Meagain,

Thanks for your review; we're sorry to hear that the Leach Mug wasn't perfect for you,

One of our Customer Services team will be in touch shortly,

Best wishes,
Seasalt

* * * - -

Preferred previous designs

Not as keen on this plain white mug as the others I have had which have been two tone. Also spots at the bottom that were clear of glaze (presumably where the mug had been held when dipping into the glaze). Returned I'm afraid.

Posted by  •  16th August 2019

Comments:

Hi HB
Thank you for reviewing the Leach Mug. We're sorry to hear that it wasn't perfect for you this time and of course we'll arrange a 'no quibble' refund for you.
As a natural ingredient, the ash used in the glaze can vary, so the colour of the glaze may be quite different from one mug to another; each mug is unique.
Best wishes, Seasalt

* * * - -

Definitely a problem with the glaze crazing

Like several other reviewers, I must unfortunately report that despite very careful handling (no dishwasher or microwave; no dropping) the glaze on these has crackled. Too bad, because they could be terrific. What a sad state of things, when Leach produces poor quality goods, sold dearly.

Posted by  •  20th January 2017

Comments:

Dear Cicaletta,

Thanks for your review of the Leach Mug, we're sorry to hear that the quality of the glazing is not whay we would expect from our products.

If you could please pop an email to our Customer Services team, they will be more than happy to help,

Best wishes,
Seasalt

Recently Viewed