Sailor Shirt
Click image to zoom

Sailor Shirt

£29.95

2 for £40 Soil Association

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

The famous Seasalt Sailor Shirt is our take on a classic Breton top – our original inspiration. Cut from 100% organic cotton in colours inspired by Cornwall, it’s a year-round essential you’ll reach for again and again. Tuck it into a denim skirt, layer it under knitwear and pair it with tailored shorts in summer.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1219 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1219 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Small Fit
* * - - -

Not the same :-(

I ordered two of these tops. I already have two which I use for work and love. Ordered two more. One was perfect, one was not. Upon checking the label one has a different style code in it to the other three and the difference in quality and fit was very noticeable. Disappointing.

Posted by  •  8th October 2016

Comments:

Dear Chrissie,

Thanks for your review; we're sorry to hear that one of your Sailor Shirts wasn't perfect for you,

We have a very robust feedback policy and we will pass on all your feedback to our design and buying department to look into further, you can always use your freepost label provided to send the Sailor Shirt back.

Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: Small Fit
* * - - -

Really disappointed.

I bought four of these tops as there was a special offer on. The colours were great and the quality looked good, however there was a big issue with the sizing! I already had one of these tops from a couple of years ago which fits really well... so I ordered the same size. These newer ones are quite a lot tighter round the body, however, giving a much more fitted look than I was expecting. I had to return them as they were just too small. I really was very disappointed.

Posted by  •  6th October 2016

Comments:

Dear Jo,

Thanks for your review; we're sorry to hear that the Sailor Shirt wasn't perfect for you.

We have a very robust feedback policy and we will pass on all your comments to our design team to look into the difference in sizing.

Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Why so long?

Even the size 8 is roomy around the stomach area.
I'd like to these more fitted for the price. Women have waists!!!
The orca is also about 3 inches longer than the coulis. Why? Quite frustrating!

Posted by  •  26th June 2016

Comments:

Dear KT,

Thanks for your review; we're sorry that the Sailor shirt wasn't perfect for you.

We have a very robust feedback policy so we'll pass on all your feedback to our design and buying teams for future seasons.

Best wishes,
Seasalt

* * - - -

Disappointed!

I love these tops and have several but this is the second time that the fit hasn't been quite right yet I'm ordering the same size each time. I know they're not made by robots but it is so disappointing when they vary so much on the width of the neckline, under the arms and in length. Sadly had to return. Lovely colour though.

Posted by  •  21st May 2015

Comments:

Dear Barnowl,
Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear that our Sailor Shirt sizing wasn't quite right for you. We'll let our garment technologists know that you've found a little variation and in the meantime our customer services team are always on hand if you'd like any advice regarding style or fit.
Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Stripey Top

Regret - I didn't like it! I thought it was thin and boring and therefore overpriced. I would prefer it to have more body. This is obviously personal opinion as every one else loves it!

Posted by  •  13th September 2014

Comments:

Dear Olly,

Thanks for your review of our Sailor Shirt, I am sorry you found it was thin, we do a a thicker striped top called the Porthgwarra which you may find nice as an alternative and this comes in lovely stripes with nice button detailing at the back of the neck.

Best Wishes,

Kate

* - - - -

Sailor top

Too baggy, thin material, sleeves too baggy to layer. Looks like 'old lady' wear.

Posted by  •  23rd September 2019

Comments:

Hi Frances
Thank you for reviewing the Sailor Shirt. We're sorry to hear that it wasn't perfect for you this time and of course we'll arrange a 'no quibble' refund for you if you'd like to pop it back to us using your free post label.
We've got some other beautiful tops in our new collection which might just be perfect so do take a look...
Best wishes
Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

It shrank

I was really disappointed after this colour stripe tee shrank in my usual 30' short wash. The other colours have not shrunk while this one lost 5cm in length and 3cm in sleeve length. Even more disappointed after emailing seasalt customer service and receiving no response.

Posted by  •  27th January 2019

Comments:

Dear Me,
Thank you for your review of the Sailor Shirt. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

Too long for petite frame

Again disappointed had to return. Lovely design and quality - would have loved to have kept - except not in proportion for petite - I am 5ft 2" . Will keep trying with Seasalt but so many times reluctantly have to return items and look elsewhere where petite clothing is available and sizing more reliable. Sometimes I have even kept Seasalt tops and washed at 40 degrees instead of 30 purely so that they fit and are flattering for petite frame. Come on Seasalt, other women's clothing can do petite sizes, please why can't Seasalt?

Posted by  •  30th June 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

Not Seasalts usual standard

My first order in size 12 (my usual size) was too big. I re-ordered in size 10 but even in the smaller size the shoulder width was too wide and the seams hung over my shoulders. The sleeves were far too long and the quality of the fabric was poor. Not Seasalt's usual standard.

Posted by  •  25th June 2018

Comments:

Dear Disappointed,
Thanks for your review; sorry to hear our Sailor Shirt wasn’t a good fit on this occasion. Due to variations in styles and design each garment has its own measurements, and these are published against it on the website. Please call our friendly customer service team on 01326 640075 or pop onto Live Chat on our website at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk, where we’d be happy to give further sizing information if required.
Best wishes, Seasalt



* - - - -

Much thinner than they used to be?

I have bought many of these sailor shirts over the years and was so pleased to be given one in the lead colourway for Christmas. However, the fabric is much thinner than any of my other sailor shirts - it's just a regular thin t-shirt material rather than the thicker, sturdier fabric of my other tops. I see these tops are now made in Sri Lanka rather than Turkey and wonder if the change in production means a different thinner fabric is now used. This thinner fabric does not wash so well and needs ironing, unlike the sailor shirts of old. Disappointing, and I wonder if any other people have commented on the change of fabric used.

Posted by  •  7th January 2018

Comments:

Dear GH,
Thanks for your review; our Sailor Shirt has always been 185gsm single jersey. We do allow a small tolerance on this weight (as it’s not very ethical to throw large amounts of cotton away for being slightly over or under weight).
In our experience, we have noted that dye colours can influence the weight and hand feel of the fabric as well as washing and surface texture.
Older garments may feel thicker over time as the fibres fluff up making it feel fuller, dark colours are often heavier ( within our tolerance).
We do carry out strict quality control but sometimes you can find that one batch may be slightly under weight, while another is slightly over and then if you compared the two, you would notice a slightly different feel. We wouldn’t fail the goods for this, but would strive to improve in the next delivery.
If you’d like to discuss further please call our friendly customer service team on 01326 640075 or pop onto Live Chat on our website at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk.
Best wishes, Seasalt.



Recently Viewed