Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £140.00 - £150.00

Up to size 28

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements! Made from beautifully soft, cotton-rich tincloth fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (948 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 948 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Does not match description or previous quality

Really disappointed in this 'reduced' fur example. I love my previous Plant Hunter and the top half is lined with fur fabric. The description is still the same but the coat now only has fur fabric on back of top half, which is very strange and actually looks like a manufacturing fault. I have written to customer service and they assure me this is now the way this coat is made. What a pity!

Posted by  •  3rd September 2019

Comments:

Thanks for your review of the Plany Hunter Coat, I'm sorry that the fleece lining wasn't as you expected. I'll pass your comments to our design team for thei consideration.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Good quality, well-made coat

In many ways, just what I was looking for, but the colour and fit made for an unattractive look! I wanted a warm winter coat but with a little more style so I sent it back.

Posted by  •  1st September 2019

Comments:

Thank you for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat, I'm sorry to hear that the style wasn't perfect for you this time.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Have you considered the Janelle Coat as an alternative, this is a longer length beautiful winter coat and comes in super colours. https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/waterproof-jackets-raincoats/all-rain/fleece-lined-waterproof-womens-janelle-coat-dark-wreckage.htm?trackterm=janelle

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Love my plant hunter cost but hate the zip

Only 3 stars because if the zip, I may return mine for a refund purely because the zip is so troublesome, I have to attemp the zip several times before I’m successful and have had to give up a couple of times and leave with my coat flapping open! Disappointing! 😥

Posted by  •  28th February 2019

Comments:

Dear Dino,
Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat; sorry to hear you’re finding the 2 way zip troublesome. The thing about 2 way zips, is that they can be a little tricky to do up, however it’s all in the preparation!
With two way zips you need to ensure both of the sliders are right at the base of the zip (they will be on your left hand side as you wear it). They should sit together quite neatly, with no space in between the zip sliders. Ideally, the zip teeth above the sliders need to be as straight as possible (often this is tricky when you are putting on your own coat), but there is a knack, which with practice you will get.
Once you have slid the right side base of the zip tape into both sliders on the left side, and all is in-line, then you should be able to pull the top slider up the zip to fasten the coat. It may be helpful to hold the base of the zip with one hand, so they are stable, whilst you slide the top slider up – sometimes if the bottom slider moves slightly, then the tips are not perfectly married together, and the zip will not close, as the teeth are misaligned. If you then want to open the bottom slider (in order to split the coat at the base of the zip) then do this as a separate operation, after you’ve fastened the top slider.
I hope this help?
Best wishes, Seasalt.


Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Not warm enough

I was initially pleased with my purchase and in fact I ended up with the lino berry dark lake version and not the grey. I have had a number of compliments about the style and colour of the parka but having worn it and I am really disappointed as it is nowhere near as warm as I expected it to be. The picture shows a quilted lining on the bottom half and a faux fur lining at the top but the sleeves are only lined with a thin layer of nylon.. What looks like a warm lining is not warm at all and my arms certainly feel the cold. I am puzzled as to why the manufacturer would think that arms do not need warmth. The faux fur and quilting is very thin and at £150 I would expect better!

Posted by  •  31st December 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Really not sure

My husband bought this for me for Christmas after I said I thought it looked nice. Having worn the Janelle coat foe many years I am very disappointed. He got the 20, as that is what I am wearing in the Janelle. This coat completely swamped me. The sleeves were hanging over the ends of my hands!!(I have since noticed that the online model has the sleeves turned back!!!) Changed it for an 18 and I am still not sure. There is no correlation between the 18 and the 20, I feel the 18 is slightly tight. Disappointing as I like the oak colour, but I am going to change it and stick with the Janelle which has been wonderful.

Posted by  •  30th December 2018

* * * - -

Not like previous Plant Hunter Coats!

I have bought Plant Hunter coats over the years because I feel the cold and they have always kept me warm. This year they have changed the fabric which is harder and the lining is less quilted! The previous models were really cosy and I feel really disappointed with this coat. The only thing I really love is the colour. Such a shame as I won’t get much use out of it and won’t be buying another coat. Sorry seasalt not your best! 😢

Posted by  •  12th December 2018

Comments:

Dear Busy mum of 4,
Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat; yes, the outer fabric has changed slightly this season. Sorry it isn’t to your liking. I’ll be happy to feed your comments to our ‘Rain’ development team for their consideration.
Best wishes, Seasalt.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Not the usual seasalt quality

I own quite a few seasalt raincoats and I love all but this one is definitely not one of the best. I might have not been the luckiest one as upon arrival it simply didn't seem new. A few light stains and an odd smell have indicated that maybe it has been a returned item. Due to circumstances, I needed a coat urgently so I couldn't return and replace it. The fleece-lined hood is lovely and very warm but mine is unfortunately shedding, the two-way zip is constantly unzipping from the bottom up which is annoying. Not really feeling it was worth the price, unfortunately.

Posted by  •  7th December 2018

Comments:

Dear Ioana,
Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat; our Customer Service team will be in contact with your shortly to discuss your comments.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

nice coat but the noise!

Nice tailored look. I went for an 8 in view of reviewer comments regarding size, i am normally 10. A mistake possibly, the proportions are good, I'm 5'2, but A thick heavy jumper inside would be uncomfortable, and I am tiny on top.. I hate the sound and feel of it though, it feels like I am swaddled in noisy bubble wrap or some kind of crackling plastic material, especially the arms. I would have rejected it if I had tried it on in a shop for that reason. However maybe thats the price that has to be paid for true waterproofness, not tried it in rain yet. Postage prohibitive to return it from Ireland.

Posted by  •  7th November 2018

* * * - -

Colour not as expected

Very good quality but colour differs to the one in the photos, definitely more green than yellow. Disappointed, as I’m not keen on the actual colour but the coat is well made and warm.

Posted by  •  1st November 2018

* * * - -

Very warm

On one hand, beautifully made, super warm, fab coat! On the other hand, colour is completely different to photos! I was expecting a mustardy dark yellow coat but instead I opened the parcel and found an olive coloured coat (my toddler called it bogey coloured). I love the quality but am extremely disappointed with the misrepresentation of the colour.

Posted by  •  31st October 2018

Comments:

Dear Java,
Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter Coat; sorry the colour wasn’t perfect for you on this occasion. We do try to ensure that the actual colour is as accurate as the image shown on the website. A number of factors can have an impact on any colour discrepancy, for example; the resolution on your pc, and lighting (studio or external) Rest assured, I will certainly feed your comments back to the relevant team for their attention.
Best wishes, Seasalt



Recently Viewed