Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

£150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1285 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1285 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Even more delighted with my coat than I thought I would be!

I’m thrilled with my coat. I chose the mast colour and it’s more teal than turquoise in real life I would say, which I’m delighted with. On reading the reviews I decided to size down which I’m also happy with. It is a pure joy to wear and the zip is a YKK one - don’t underestimate the sheer pleasure of a good quality zip in your life! My coat is cosy and the length is to the knee on me, so just perfect. I love how it curves at the back. The material on the outside surprised me - it’s soft and silky to the touch, so much nicer than I expected a raincoat to feel. I’m really looking forward to wearing it out. Oh and before I forget, my first coat got lost in the post and I I swear the delay was worth it, just to deal with such lovely, helpful and personable people at the end of the phone. I received my new coat a mere two days after it had dispatched (I live in Germany!). Excellent product and service. What more could you ask for!

Posted by  •  26th November 2020

Comments:

Dear Mary,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Plant Hunter coat, we are so pleased to hear that you love it!

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

so useful

I was looking for a waterproof, windproof alternative to wearing my usual 'fleece plus kagool' combination - and this fits the bill perfectly. I am fairly tall (5f8) so bought the longer length, which gives me good thigh coverage. The coat is warm and has a snuggly interior. I can easily fit a jumper, scarf and hat on the inside too, with my usual size. I am delighted I bought it.

Posted by  •  25th November 2020

* * * * -

Fab coat!

This coat is exactly what I was looking for, it’s warm and cosy without being too bulky and extra long to keep chilly wind away. I’m 5ft 10 and the tall fitted perfectly.

The only snag is the inside cuff of the sleeves seems to have a good 5 inches worth of the outside fabric continuing inside up the sleeve as opposed to the lining, this means every time you put the coat on the cuffs provide some resistance against whatever you are wearing inside and need straightening out to stop them bunching up, it’s a minor annoyance but didn’t seem to be present on the regular fit I tried first?!

Posted by  •  25th November 2020

Comments:

Dear Emma,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Beware the colour online

The positives first: the petite fit is truly excellent. I have never come across it anywhere else and it’s perfect for my 5’1” frame. The size chart also helped me pick the right size. For a parka, this coat is stylish and looks slimming on. Now the negative which is the colour. I purchased this coat in the colour ‘oak’ which looks mustard yellow online but is actually a brownish khaki which makes me look sick with jaundice. The colour could not possibly be more unflattering on me. Sadly I will be returning it. Also sadly there are no more petites in my size in other colours.

Posted by  •  25th November 2020

Comments:

Dear MGN,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time.
Thanks for your feedback regarding the colour. We do try to represent colours accurately but screen resolution settings can affect the colours you see when browsing a website. We'll have a look at this one to see if we can adjust it slightly.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: Small Fit
* * * - -

Lovely raincoat but too fitted

Lovely raincoat but unfortuntely had to send back. It is a lot more fitted than it appears in the photos, and is quite tight around the hips. I was expecting it to be a bit more A line in style. The sizing overall seems to come up small. I ordered a 14 and its quite snug on top if you had layers on underneath.

Posted by  •  24th November 2020

Comments:

Dear 2246suzanne,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

plant hunter raincoat

Love this coat. Good sizing from Seasalt because they suggested size 10 and coat nice and roomy. Excellent at staying dry in West of Scotland weather. Windproof so warm although not bulky. More money than I usually spend however worth every penny and would recommend.

Posted by  •  24th November 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

I love this coat

I bought a Janelle coat last year and liked it so much I decided to buy another Seasalt coat in a shorter length, the Plant HUnter. This one. like the Janelle, is beautifully made, very comfortable and warm and look s very nice indeed. I love the colour and print and really like the cut of the coat, especially the way the hood frames my face but does not obscure vision. The coat is lightweight but cosy
and has plenty of room for warm jumpers underneath. The pockets are good too. Overall, a great coat!

Posted by  •  22nd November 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Superb coat, wonderful colour

I bought this as an alternative to the ubiquitous puffer coat for walks, and I'm so glad I did. It's warm without being heavy and genuinely waterproof which knocks puffers out of the game. The mustard colour is distinctive and fabulous and I've had many compliments on it. Your sizing guide was really helpful and I've ended up with a good fit, although as a tall person I'm surprised how long the sleeves are. I'm very pleased you've stayed clear of overt branding and fancy linings - this is low key and stylish, thank you so much.

Posted by  •  22nd November 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

plant hunter coat

my daughter is thrilled with this coat. Warm , waterproof and great fit.

Posted by  •  22nd November 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Cosy & Dry

I used the size guide which was very accurate considering I did not trust it initially. my coat is a good fit with slightly more room for a jumper on very cold days. I thought the colour was a little murky but my husband says the colour suits me. So nice to have rainwear that keeps me drier than an average jacket.

Posted by  •  21st November 2020

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed