Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £140.00 - £150.00

Up to size 28

Just a few left - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1280 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1280 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

* * * - -

Disappointed

I really wanted to like this coat and at 5'2" was so pleased to see it offered in a Petite fit. I tried it in both 10 and 12 Petite and unfortunately in both sizes found it too tight across the back and in the sleeves. If I moved my arms forwards or upwards I had to undo the poppers and the sleeves would ride right up my arms. I am not particularly big on my top half (more of a pear shape) so the tight fit in this respect is unusual for me. I also tried the standard length which swamped me overall but was still a bit tight across the back when I moved. It's so disappointing the fit is not right for me as the coat is otherwise very nice.

Posted by  •  27th November 2020

Comments:

Dear helen,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love the coat

The coat looks and feels fantastic. I ordered oak, which looks yellow in your photos, but is actually more of a khaki colour. This isn’t the first review to say that the colours don’t match, so it would be good if you could use photos that better represent the actual colours please.

The suggested size is exactly right, which is fantastic.

Posted by  •  27th November 2020

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Plant Hunter coat

Love the colour -oak . I would normally wear size 12 but have a size 10 which is perfect.

Posted by  •  26th November 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

winter coat

Love this long coat! It has been successfully tested in wind and rain. The hood isn't too big, fitting snugly round the face. If it's really cold there's room enough for an extra later. Highly recommend even though I've never spent this much on a coat before! It's so well made it will last for a long time.

Posted by  •  26th November 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Winter raincoat

I had to wait fir this colour to come in again and it was worth the wait. Lovely colour, really nice fit and length. The sleeves are a good fit around the wrist so nice and warm and the hood fits better than any other coat with a hood that I have had. Great service as always!

Posted by  •  26th November 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Even more delighted with my coat than I thought I would be!

I’m thrilled with my coat. I chose the mast colour and it’s more teal than turquoise in real life I would say, which I’m delighted with. On reading the reviews I decided to size down which I’m also happy with. It is a pure joy to wear and the zip is a YKK one - don’t underestimate the sheer pleasure of a good quality zip in your life! My coat is cosy and the length is to the knee on me, so just perfect. I love how it curves at the back. The material on the outside surprised me - it’s soft and silky to the touch, so much nicer than I expected a raincoat to feel. I’m really looking forward to wearing it out. Oh and before I forget, my first coat got lost in the post and I I swear the delay was worth it, just to deal with such lovely, helpful and personable people at the end of the phone. I received my new coat a mere two days after it had dispatched (I live in Germany!). Excellent product and service. What more could you ask for!

Posted by  •  26th November 2020

Comments:

Dear Mary,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Plant Hunter coat, we are so pleased to hear that you love it!

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

so useful

I was looking for a waterproof, windproof alternative to wearing my usual 'fleece plus kagool' combination - and this fits the bill perfectly. I am fairly tall (5f8) so bought the longer length, which gives me good thigh coverage. The coat is warm and has a snuggly interior. I can easily fit a jumper, scarf and hat on the inside too, with my usual size. I am delighted I bought it.

Posted by  •  25th November 2020

* * * * -

Fab coat!

This coat is exactly what I was looking for, it’s warm and cosy without being too bulky and extra long to keep chilly wind away. I’m 5ft 10 and the tall fitted perfectly.

The only snag is the inside cuff of the sleeves seems to have a good 5 inches worth of the outside fabric continuing inside up the sleeve as opposed to the lining, this means every time you put the coat on the cuffs provide some resistance against whatever you are wearing inside and need straightening out to stop them bunching up, it’s a minor annoyance but didn’t seem to be present on the regular fit I tried first?!

Posted by  •  25th November 2020

Comments:

Dear Emma,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Beware the colour online

The positives first: the petite fit is truly excellent. I have never come across it anywhere else and it’s perfect for my 5’1” frame. The size chart also helped me pick the right size. For a parka, this coat is stylish and looks slimming on. Now the negative which is the colour. I purchased this coat in the colour ‘oak’ which looks mustard yellow online but is actually a brownish khaki which makes me look sick with jaundice. The colour could not possibly be more unflattering on me. Sadly I will be returning it. Also sadly there are no more petites in my size in other colours.

Posted by  •  25th November 2020

Comments:

Dear MGN,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time.
Thanks for your feedback regarding the colour. We do try to represent colours accurately but screen resolution settings can affect the colours you see when browsing a website. We'll have a look at this one to see if we can adjust it slightly.

If you haven't already done so, you can pop it back to us using the free post label enclosed in your parcel. We have a 'no quibble' refund policy so we'll arrange your refund just as soon as we receive it.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Fit: Small Fit
* * * - -

Lovely raincoat but too fitted

Lovely raincoat but unfortuntely had to send back. It is a lot more fitted than it appears in the photos, and is quite tight around the hips. I was expecting it to be a bit more A line in style. The sizing overall seems to come up small. I ordered a 14 and its quite snug on top if you had layers on underneath.

Posted by  •  24th November 2020

Comments:

Dear 2246suzanne,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed