Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £99.95 - £150.00

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1669 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1669 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

* * * * *

nice quality coat

Bought for my wife as a warmer winter waterproof. Not been worn as yet but looks good.

Posted by  •  12th October 2014

* * * * *

fantastic coat

So pleased with my plant hunter's coat: light warm and fits my size 16 well leaving room for winter woolies. Peacock colour is great too- cheerful but not over-bright.

Posted by  •  12th October 2014

* * * * *

Proud as a peacock!

Lightweight but very snug at the same time. The peacock shade is lovely, I was concerned it might be too pale for dog walking but luckily not. It reminds me of my son's old faded Boy Scout shirt. Very happy.
For those that are unhappy with the low level mobile pocket I like the idea. I hate having to undo a zip to get to my phone when I'm out in the rain so the ability to reach it without undoing any fastenings is a bonus. There are always the hand pockets as an alternative.

Posted by  •  11th October 2014

* * * * *

Good quality coat

I've only worn it twice so I can't speak for its long term durability but it kept me dry in a relentless rain storm. Lightweight and comfortable and still incredibly warm

Posted by  •  10th October 2014

* * * * *

winterwarmer

So very pleased with this coat. Lovely warm lining, great length and true to size. Bring on the cold!

Posted by  •  8th October 2014

* * * * *

A fabulous coat

The day I received the coat it was put through its paces, I had to be on the sidelines at a school match, in pouring rain! I remained warm and totally dry and felt really comfortable as well as feminine ( Hurray, a well cut and nicely shaped rain coat ) and unbulky too. Its so lightweight and easy to wear, easy to move about in and such soft, lovely fabric. My 16 year old daughter has her eye on it!

Posted by  •  7th October 2014

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Just perfect

Having spent the summer hoping for rain (in vain) so that I could wear my wonderful Hellweather Mac , I will now spend the winter hoping for snow for my Plant Hunter. This coat in this shade of blue is just a thing of beauty and I adore the fishtail back. I have sized up and have not been disappointed with the comfort and the fit. The lining ensures plenty of warmth across back and shoulders where you need it, especially over the border here in Devon when the gales blow.
I have been amazed at how many people stop and have Seasalt conversations with me when I am wearing my Hellweather Mac...someone approached my and said ' i have been thinking about buying one of those, it looks so lovely on you I am going to order one the minute I get home!" I fully expect the same with my Plant Hunter...Seasalt Socialising!

Posted by  •  21st September 2014

* * * * *

tested in the metropolis

Plant Hunter has now been tested not only on Cornish clifftops, but through the winter streets of Istanbul. It has kept me warm and dry through heavy showers, but it's so light and breathable that overheated public transport has become tolerable. The fleecy lining to the waist acts as a comforting body warmer, while the quilting from waist to lower hem is protective without being bulky.

If you are in between sizes, sizing up rather than down is useful if you want to wear a thick sweater underneath - though the coat is so warm, you'd only need that in very cold weather.

Unlike some other reviewers, I have had no problems with the zip nor yet lost any poppers. Seasalt always provides spares of its distinctive buttons. Could it do the same for poppers?

As well as the coat being practical, the fabric has a pleasingly matt appearance.

So far, Plant Hunter scores five anchors. If it stays waterproof and loses no poppers, then it will deserve six.

(My partner hopes you'll also design some longer length raincoats for men.)

Posted by  •  10th March 2014

* * * - -

Warm but a little disappointing

It really is like wearing a sleeping bag, warm and great length for watching outdoor sports.
Unfortunately, I had not noticed when I bought it, that one of the studs on the back was missing, we had travelled away, and this was my coat - looking forward to wearing it, but when I noticed the missing stud, I did take a picture. However, it did rain, and as I had worn it and needed to wear it I did not return it. Since then, another stud has disappeared off the front and now the zip is starting to play up, and will not line up as it did and have trouble pulling up the zip! Apart from that!! I still appreciate it out in all weathers.

Posted by  •  7th February 2014

* * * * -

waterproof?

This coat is definitely NOT fully waterproof, at least not at the back of the neck. I've just come home and had to change as my top was wet at the neck. A lovely coat, but not the guaranteed waterproof as advertised.

Posted by  •  31st January 2014

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed