Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £140.00 - £150.00

NEW

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements! Made from beautifully soft, cotton-rich tincloth fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (881 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 881 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

plant hunter coat

Very pleased with this coat. I am a size 16-18 5'2" and the 16 fits snugly but with room to move arms.Agree that the sleeves are long (down to middle of fingers) but good for cold wet weather. Slightly padded look but this is also due to the quilting inside. It is very light and warm and love the fish tail at the back. Excellent value in the sale in Peacock which is a lovely colour.Looking forward to testing it on cold wet and windy beaches!

Posted by  •  19th August 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Great coat

This is a great coat. It allows for my hugely long arms. It is very nice to wear, being soft and cosy inside. I've tested it in driving drizzle and it was completely impervious, drying out nicely afterwards. It would have had a score of five if it had had a better positioned internal pocket, and if the pocket had been accessible when the zip is fastened. Being low down means that it flaps a bit when loaded up with a mobile. The hood fits nicely.

Posted by  •  7th April 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Peacock is lovely

The coat and colour is beautiful but I cannot get the packing creases to drop out of it which is what spoils it a bit for me . I checked the washing label and it says do not iron so I am afraid to touch it with the iron in case it damages the waterproofing.

Posted by  •  27th March 2015

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Warm, dry and cosy!

My daughter has a Jonelle coat in size 10. I tried that on but it was too tight. I've been looking for a useful but stylish coat for cold, wet and windy conditions so visited my local Seasalt shop. I tried on the Jonelle in size 12 but at 5ft 3ins it looked too long. I bought the Plan Hunter coat in a 12 but when I took it home decided it was too big so changed to a 10. I can still get a thick jumper on underneath. I love the coat, especially the hood which stays on without obliterating my view; and the two way zip. For me the sleeves are too long and an extra fastener would make it possible to secure them better around my wrists so they wouldn't come down so far and they'd be more snug in bad weather. The only major design fault for me is not having a secure, easily accessible pocket in the upper body, eg next to the zip, in which to keep my mobile phone and maybe a credit card. My other walking coats have this feature and I really miss it. My friend was so impressed with my coat she instantly bought a similar one to mine!!

Posted by  •  8th February 2015

* * * * -

just lovely

just love my new seasalt coat have had my old one for 7 years and it has done many doggie walking years so fingers crossed my new plant hunter coat will do the same it is so cosy.

Posted by  •  15th January 2015

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Sizes are very large

I also had a lot of trouble with this coat. I had bought a size 14 and it was far to big. Luckily I returned it and got a refund. I am a size 16 in a Northstar. Eventually I found that a size 12 was a good fit and found one in my local shop. It still has room for a jumper. IT IS VERY CONFUSING THE SIZING WHEN ONE HAS GOT TO RETURN ALL THE TIME AND THAT COSTS MONEY.

Posted by  •  13th November 2014

Comments:

Hi Clairette,

Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter coat. I am sorry you found the sizing larger than expected. We do have an individual size guide online for each product, as depending on the style the measurements may vary. I do hope this helps and if you do require any further help or information on sizing please do give one of our lovely customer service assistants a call and they are more than happy to provide more sizing information. Best Wishes from all at Seasalt.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Too big!

I thought this was a lovely coat .. I bought it because it says it is the winter version of the hellweathers mac - I bought the same size but it is ABSOLUTELY HUGE! which is a little annoying as I thought I was safe to buy the same size as the hellweather's coat which fits perfectly - now I am probably looking at a very expensive return, and I am not sure about doing an exchange in case I need to pay to return it again!

Posted by  •  12th November 2014

Comments:

Dear Pip

Thank you for your review on the Plant Hunter Coat. Even though it is a version of our Hellweathers Mac the Plant Hunter has been designed to be a winter coat, and its measurements allow for winter clothing to be worn underneath. All our garments have individual measurement charts within their description to help with sizing, and our team at customer services is always on hand to answer any queries. We also recommend Collect+ within our returns section which we find can bring the return cost down.
Best wishes,
Seasalt

* * * * -

plant hunter coat

Echoing Lady of the Shires just right except for Wales read nort coast of Scotland! I'd have preferred it with a detachable hood, especially as it's so big with no volumiser at the back and I also wish that the soft teddy lining extended to the chin so that the cold metal zip didn't touch my face... Having said that I'm looking forward to wearing it on the boat to Orkney this weekend!

Posted by  •  8th November 2014

* * * * -

My second review on this product

Having tried this on several times in a size 14, I phoned up customer services today and they suggested that I return the coat as the 14 is really too loose. I went to my local shop that sell Seasalt and tried one in a 12 and that was fine. SO THERE IS A PROBLEM .WITH THE SEASALT SIZING AS I AM A 16 IN A KELLIFRAY & NORTHSTAR COAT AND THEY FIT REALLY WELL. Pease would you take note of this for the future as it is very frustrating having to send everything back.

Posted by  •  5th November 2014

Comments:

Hi Clairette,

Thanks for your review of the Plant Hunter coat. I am sorry you found the sizing larger than expected. We do have an individual size guide online for each product, as depending on the style the measurements may vary. I do hope this helps and if you do require any further help or information on sizing please do give one of our lovely customer service assistants a call and they are more than happy to provide more sizing information. Best Wishes from all at Seasalt.

* * * * -

just what I wanted

Perfect at last 3rd attempt, peacock normal size 14 a little snug when sitting, ordered Jannel Coat a very stiff coat. Re ordered this time in coal and up a size perfect. Thank u SS, only crumble I thought I could exchange Jannel no! £11 to send back, although no postage charged by SS for return item, please make clear exchanges are like for like only.

Posted by  •  24th October 2014

Recently Viewed