Plant Hunter Coat
Click image to zoom

Plant Hunter Coat

From £140.00 - £150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Plant Hunter Coat is a relaxed-fitting, parka-style coat ready to take on the elements. Made from our innovative, beautifully soft, cotton-rich Tin Cloth® fabric, it falls to mid-thigh at the front and has a dipped, fishtail hem at the back with snap fastening vent. The top half of the coat is lined with cosy fleece fabric, while the bottom half is quilted to keep the chill at bay throughout the winter. The cosy, fleece-lined hood has an adjustable drawcord, and it has a handy two-way zip, snap fastening front pockets and poppered cuffs so you can roll the sleeves up or down. It also has an internal waist drawcord.

TIN CLOTH®
Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from hard wearing natural fabrics finished with our high-performance waterproofing treatment. The result is a waterproof, windproof and breathable jacket with a soft yet durable finish.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (1138 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 1138 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

FInally

Finally I found a coat that not only protects from rain, but also looks and feels great.

Posted by  •  19th October 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Fabulous

Love this coat - absolutely true fit even with a jumper under and so, so cozy! Perfect for wet and windy!!! But the best bit is the zip - sounds odd I know but I get fed up with lovely coats and weak zips. This is sturdy, easy to use and stays in place. So overall, a great winter coat!

Posted by  •  19th October 2020

* * * * *

Lovely Coat and Colour

This coat is very comfortable/warm, fits perfectly and the colour is fantastic. I have had lots of lovely comments which always makes you feel good. Well Done SeaSalt

Posted by  •  19th October 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

New plant hunter coat

My first plant hunter, after about 6 years of almost daily wear, is no longer reliably waterproof so I decided to get another. I am so disappointed. All the details which made the original so lovely have gone and the ‘new’ version is clearly made to a lower manufacturing cost:
Brass fittings replaced with flat self coloured studs
Leather fittings replaced with nasty plastic toggles
Cheaper lining fabric
Chunkier and therefore stiffer self coloured zip
Hard colours, maybe great in town but not very ‘seasalt’
Fleece lining no longer extends to front yoke
No piping where fleece joins lining
No cuff straps
I have decided to keep it as the length and shape of the hood are still what I want. However it now feels like a very ordinary town Mac, it seems expensive and not the lovely good value country coat it was originally.

Posted by  •  19th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Jill,

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that the coat wasn't perfect for you this time.
We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

* * * * *

Lovely coat

I am tall and have long arms which makes finding a coat that fits difficult. I bought this coat in tall and it is perfect. The sleeves are a good length and it is nice and warm to wear.

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Very happy

I live in the highlands and was looking for a warm weatherproof coat to wear when I need to look half respectable (not often I admit). I am very pleased with this one (plant-hunter), it does the job perfectly and I like the style. Have not tested it in a downpour yet, but I think it will be fine. I almost ordered a size up but glad I did not, as it is plenty roomy enough for whatever I want to wear underneath. I am 5 foot 3, size 16. It's nice and long. Not sure the insides of the pockets will last forever, but that's being picky.

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Plant Hunter Coat

I love this coat, I've still to wear it outdoors, but it feels good on, so light but cosy. I chose Bitter Cocoa in a size 12, which is perfect for size as you can tighten the waist inside the coat to make it snug. I tried a 10 but it was just too tight, especially for getting into the pockets.

If I was to add a small thing to make it 100% perfect, it would be a nice spacious inside pocket for phone and keys, keeping the outside pockets free for hands.

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Cat,

Thanks for your lovely review and feedback. We'll be sure to pass your suggestions on to the design team!

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

* * * * *

Looovely

Really nice raincoat. I’m 5’10” and don’t usually order talk but did and it’s just right and cuffs turn back easy if needed. Like the drawstring inside which adds shape. The oak colour is lovely and autumnal. A keeper

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Plant hunter coat

Great coat, size 16. I already have the unlined long parka coat (size 14)which I love and wanted the same style but warmer. This coat is perfect, warm and waterproof with room for a warm sweater. Delivery to France to a collection point worked really well. Delivery to my remote rural house has been problematic in the past.

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

* * * * -

Another great seasalt coat!

This is my 3rd seasalt coat. Always great quality and style. Although I am 5'5" I find the petite fit perfect. Sleeves on most coats cover my entire hands! This coat is perfect. I've dropped 1 anchor purely because the limited colour choice in the petite fit, I would have preferred slate but only choice of 2. Otherwise very pleased.

Posted by  •  18th October 2020

Comments:

Dear Spongekay,

Thanks for your lovely review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the design team.

Best wishes,
The Seasalt Team

Waterproof Tin Cloth

Inspired by traditional oilskins, our unique Tin Cloth® coats and jackets are crafted from natural fabrics like hard wearing organic cotton canvas, linen and ripstop cotton with our high-performance waterproofing treatment.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed