It looks like you're visiting from United States of America

or
Janelle Coat
Click image to zoom

Janelle Coat

£150.00

Plus Size

Sold Out - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

Sleek, contemporary and flattering, it's little wonder our Janelle Coat is a bestseller. It has fully taped seams and falls to the knee to offer maximum protection against the elements. The upper part of the coat is lined with a tonal fleece to keep the chill at bay, while the lower half is quilted for warmth and ease of movement. The peaked detachable hood protects your face from the wind and rain, while neat, sporty adjusters help ensure a perfect fit. Reflective strips on the back of the hood and the bottom of the sleeves help make you more visible after dark. It’s finished off with a two-way zip, adjustable cuffs and waist adjusters at the back for a more feminine silhouette. In versatile colours that work with your wardrobe, it’s as happy in town as it is on the coast.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®.

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (359 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 359 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

waaayy too long

I really wanted this coat. Saw it online and then went specially to Lewes to buy it, but .... when I tried it on I was so disappointed. Its sooo long especially at the back. The front is just about OK but the rather unnecessary longer back was nearly skimming my ankles. Well I know I'm not tall, 5' 2" but neither am I abnormally short, I know lots of people my height especially older women, I'm 60, not that ancient, It was just too long. So I'm afraid I didnt buy. If only there were shorter lengths in Seasalt. I also have this problem with a lot of the dresses. So disappointing.

Posted by  •  22nd November 2017

Fit: Small Fit
* * - - -

Disappointing as not as good quality as previous janelle coat

Unlike previous janelle model,l i found this very disappointing & returned. With this newer style there is more chance of catching zip as less generous margin of material.. More importantly this peaked hood did not cover the front of my head as hood is much shallower than earlier style. Dark wreckage shade in this coat is not same as same shade in the lighter rainwear jackets-it is s lightly greener.

Posted by  •  5th September 2017

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

I wouldn't buy it again

The actual coat is good, but the zip has been driving mad from day one. The slider gets stuck and it takes ages to make it right, which it does not always happens. It is pretty sad that such expensive coat has such a poor zip. Mine is a black Janelle, so it is kind of previous edition. I only got round to write this review now. I hope the zip quality has improved.

Posted by  •  28th June 2019

Comments:

Hi Kicacar,
Thanks for your review of the Janelle Coat, but we're reallly sorry you're having problems with the zip
We use YKK who are the leading supplier of zips so it shouldn’t be an issue regarding the quality of the zip. The thing about 2-way zips, is that they can generally be a little tricky to do up, however, it’s all in the preparation!
With two way zips you need to ensure both of the sliders are right at the base of the zip (they will be on your left hand side as you wear it). They should sit together quite neatly, with no space in between the zip sliders. Ideally, the zip teeth above the sliders need to be as straight as possible (often this is tricky when you are putting on your own coat), but there is a knack, which with practice you will get.
Once you have slid the right side base of the zip tape into both sliders on the left side, and all is in-line, then you should be able to pull the top slider up the zip to fasten the coat. It may be helpful to hold the base of the zip with one hand, so they are stable, whilst you slide the top slider up – sometimes if the bottom slider moves slightly, then the tips are not perfectly married together, and the zip will not close, as the teeth are misaligned.
If you then want to open the bottom slider (in order to split the coat at the base of the zip) then do this as a separate operation, after you’ve fastened the top slider.
Hope this helps, but please don't hesitate to contact us on 01326 640075 if the issue is not covered by this advice.
Best wishes Seasalt



Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Not waterproof!

I bought this a few months ago but only really tested it in heavy rain this weekend and it leaked water through the hood and shoulders - not impressed!

Posted by  •  19th December 2018

Comments:

Dear Jane,
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


* - - - -

Purple Sieve

This coat is not waterproof:( all the seams leak it has only been worn 3 times!!

Posted by  •  21st October 2018

Comments:

Dear Wendy
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.

* - - - -

Warm but manufacturing problem

Love the warmth of coat, and wipes clean of mud, but only after a year of wear a popper has come off the coat and the zips on the pockets have broken. Too expensive to have faults like this happening and disappointing as my other seasalt coat has had no problems.

Posted by  •  24th March 2018

Comments:

Dear Nat
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.

* - - - -

Disappointing

Zips are poor quality - my pocket zip broke almost immediately
Lifetime guarantee doesnt apply apparently

Posted by  •  9th March 2018

Comments:

Dear sue,
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

true to size

This is an ok long coat, so so and definitely too expensive, too cold for winter... it is probably just for a day on the rain which happens in summer or autum but not in winter! If it is meant to be for rain during the winter, it will need to be designed with at least more layers of a very expensive padding to justify the high price we all pay for it. I will send it back, and will get a better quality for what I pay.

Posted by  •  14th November 2017

Comments:

Dear meriland,
Thanks for your review of the Janelle Coat II, sorry it wasn’t perfect for you on this occasion. We have a very robust feedback system in place, so I’ll feed your comments about extra padding to the relevant team for their future consideration.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

Janelle 2

So I tried a 10 in black in store and it fitted, but I wanted the green. I ordered online because the shop didn't have green. It came and was a much larger fit than the black even though supposedly the same size. I had to return it as it was too big but didn't get the delivery charge back, so complete waste of money time and effort - disappointed.:-(

Posted by  •  19th October 2017

Comments:

Dear Ellie,
Thank you for your review of the Janelle II Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


Recently Viewed