Janelle Coat
Click image to zoom

Janelle Coat

£150.00

Up to size 28

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable.

Our Janelle Coat is designed to withstand whatever the Cornish weather throws at us, so it will keep you warm and dry whatever the forecast. A clean, contemporary knee-length raincoat that comes in a choice of versatile colours.

The fit is relaxed but feminine, with room for layers underneath and tab adjusters to highlight the waist. The upper part of the coat is lined with cosy tonal fleece, while the lower half is quilted for warmth and ease of movement.

Packed with technical features and made to last, our Janelle Coat has fully taped seams, a two-way zip, poppered cuffs you can roll back and a peaked detachable hood with adjusters to protect your face. We’ve also added reflective strips on the hood and sleeves make you more visible after dark.

Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (617 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 617 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Design has changed but not for the better - stupid fluorescent strip!!

I've had a Janelle coat for a couple of years. It's warm and waterproof but a horrible dull purple colour which I hate. So I thought I'd update to a new "dark wreckage" coloured version. It arrived today but alas the design has changed. The cuffs have lost the Velcro strips that keep them warm and watertight. Worse, the hood now has a luminous strip on the back of the head like the flourescent armbands we wore to go to primary school on dark winter mornings. It looks ridiculous on an adult woman. So disappointed. The coat's going back 🙁.

Posted by  •  29th September 2018

* * - - -

It’s a no from me

I have used this coat for around 2 weeks now. It absolutely does it’s job as far as being waterproof is concerned. It’s long so really does keep you dry. I really wanted this coat to work for me because it looks lovely on but the hood is way too small -doesn’t cover my head (and i’ve a small frame) especially if i wear a low messy bun or a ponytail. The coat is also not warm enough. I appreciate i do feel the cold but we are only just approaching autumn. It’s a no from me unfortunately especially as it was a present. Awkward 😢

Posted by  •  11th September 2018

Comments:

Dear Seasider,
Thanks for your review of the Janelle Coat; we have a very robust feedback system in place, so I’ll feed your comments back to the relevant team for their attention. Should you wish to discuss further, please call our friendly customer service team on 01326 640075 or pop onto Live Chat on our website at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk
Best wishes, Seasalt



Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Love the coat but extremely disappointed!

I have just received the Janelle coat and I love it - it fits perfectly. However, I was disappointed to find that there is a fault with the reflective strip on the one sleeve. I called customer services to see how I could get a replacement/exchange - to be frank, I was disappointed at their response and inflexibility. The coat is not cheap and with Seasalt's reputation, I would have expected better quality control and better customer service!

Posted by  •  23rd May 2018

Comments:

Dear Sue L
Thank you for your review. One of our customer service team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Faulty Zip on Pocket.

I bought this Raincoat around thirteen months ago, and enjoyed wearing it this Winter - couldn't do last Winter as I was ill for three months so it didn't get worn then.

Unfortunately, I am now having problems closing the Zip on the Left Hand Pocket which I'm very disappointed with considering the Raincoat has not been worn much.

In fact, the main Zip at the front of the R/Coat is also a problem at times.

I did expect this Raincoat to last for years given it's price, and perceived quality.

Posted by  •  27th January 2018

Comments:


Dear Jan
Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Disappointingly

Having previously purchased this coat a few years ago, I fancied a change of colour so is my second coat of this style. I was therefore very disappointed when the zip on the pocket recently broke. I have now reverted back to my older coat which is still going strong.

Posted by  •  8th December 2017

Comments:

Dear Dotty,

Thanks for your review; we’re sorry to hear that the Janelle Coat you received wasn’t up to our usual high standard. We have a rigorous process for testing our waterproof fabrics and taped seams and components to make sure that every raincoat we make is fit for the worse of downpours. For this reason, faults are rare and we always take any reported defects very seriously.
If you’d like to call our friendly customer service team on 01326 640075 or pop onto Live Chat on our website at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk. We’d be happy to discuss and offer further advice.

Best wishes, Seasalt



Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

waaayy too long

I really wanted this coat. Saw it online and then went specially to Lewes to buy it, but .... when I tried it on I was so disappointed. Its sooo long especially at the back. The front is just about OK but the rather unnecessary longer back was nearly skimming my ankles. Well I know I'm not tall, 5' 2" but neither am I abnormally short, I know lots of people my height especially older women, I'm 60, not that ancient, It was just too long. So I'm afraid I didnt buy. If only there were shorter lengths in Seasalt. I also have this problem with a lot of the dresses. So disappointing.

Posted by  •  22nd November 2017

Fit: Small Fit
* * - - -

Disappointing as not as good quality as previous janelle coat

Unlike previous janelle model,l i found this very disappointing & returned. With this newer style there is more chance of catching zip as less generous margin of material.. More importantly this peaked hood did not cover the front of my head as hood is much shallower than earlier style. Dark wreckage shade in this coat is not same as same shade in the lighter rainwear jackets-it is s lightly greener.

Posted by  •  5th September 2017

* - - - -

lasted one winter

I bought this coat 3 years ago, the first product I bought from Seasalt - to encourage the "local" economy. It was great the first winter (if a bit thin - needs a couple of layers): rainproof, nice looking, comfortable. Then I washed it (with the product recommended, then “waterproofed”) and it became a dishcloth in the first rain. I repeated the waterproofing treatment (without the washing) a couple of times and it recovered a bit but it can't make it through a serious winter rain. Then the snap fastener on one of the 2 side tabs came out of the coat side (so now both parts hang on the tab). I tried to persuade it back through the small round hole it came out through but it didn’t work. I stitched the tab in place. It is not surprising the snap came out, there is no interfacing or anything else to reinforce the material it is attached to, which is a thin piece of relatively flexible cloth. The second snap fastener on that side also came out a year later. And then the pocket zipper stopped working properly (now it opens behind the zip puller). After the first year the coat has been used very little as I bought another one from zara for half the price. I will probably not buy other products from Seasalt: I find it overpriced for substandard quality and it is not even made "locally".

Posted by  •  19th June 2020

Comments:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your Janelle Coat, we're really sorry to hear that it's not perfect. We work really hard to make sure our garments are of the best quality, however when something doesn't meet the high standard that we'd like to know about it.

Our customer service team will get in touch to discuss further.




Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

Janelle 2

I've had a Janelle for years and wanted a replacement. I ordered the same size 10. It was so much bigger, it fitted my son who is about 11 stone. I returned it and ordered a size 8... still too big especially around the arms. The new cuff is not practical for a raincoat -old style much better. Janelle 2 is boxier, much frumpier and nothing like as stylish. The coat is nice and warm and doesn't need massive room for thick, heavy jumpers. Please redesign for next year as I really love the raincoat and my old one needs to be replaced.

Posted by  •  1st March 2020

Comments:

Thanks for your review and feedback. We'll be sure to pass your comments and suggestions on to the design team!

I'm sorry to hear that the sizing wasn't perfect for you this time.

If it helps, we list detailed measurements on the size guide next to each garment, or if you prefer, our customer service team would be pleased to help with specific sizing queries. Call 01326 640075 or hop onto a chat at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk





Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

Not good if you are 5 foot 1 inch

Loved the dark wreckage colour and fab functionality and couldn’t wait to try it on. Unfortunately as I am not very tall the waist adjustment came over my hips and I looked absolutely awful in it and couldn’t get it off fast enough. They do a petite in some colours which might have been better but didn’t have it in the shop nor do they have it in dark wreckage online so I didn’t try it.

Posted by  •  5th December 2019

Comments:

Hi Kasay

Thank you for your review of the Janelle Coat but I'm sorry to hear that the fit wasn't perfect for you this time. Although this garment isn't available in our Petite range in all but the Squid Ink colour at the moment we'll be sure to pass your feedback on.

Do take a look at our Petite collection here https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/clothing/womens-petite-clothing we're sure you'll find another item here that will be a perfect fit.

Best wishes
Seaside

IT’S ALL IN THE DETAIL

Our design team in Falmouth work hard each season to create high performance rainwear that doesn’t compromise on style. Using HCR Technology®, we test every piece against the worst the Cornish weather can throw at us.

 

We take extra care over all the little details that make our coats so special. On each one you’ll find a selection of features we’ve added to make sure our coats not only fit perfectly, but keep you protected from the elements.

HCR Technology - Horizontal Cornish Rain
Tin Cloth Diagram

PERFORMANCE

  • Waterproof and windproof outer layer with 5,000mm waterproof rating, suitable for heavy rain
  • Taped seams to stop water getting in through the stitches
  • Breathable fabric with 5,000g rating for extra comfort
Recently Viewed