It looks like you're visiting from United States of America

or
Bowsprit Jacket
Click image to zoom

Bowsprit Jacket

£120.00

Plus Size Tin Cloth

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

A stylish and fuss-free, hip-length raincoat in our famous Tin Cloth® fabric. Our Bowsprit Jacket has a simple, flattering silhouette, with a dipped parka-style hem, adjustable drawcord hood, zip and popper placket closure, cotton lining and turnback cuffs. Our Tin Cloth® is made from organic cotton with a hi-tech waterproofing treatment – our interpretation of an oilskin. This special Seasalt fabric is waterproof, windproof and breathable, with a soft yet durable finish. We’ve improved the fabric this season, giving it a softer feel so it’s even easier to wear. Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (300 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 300 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Very creased and not well finished off

I have just received this jacket and am very disappointed as it arrived very creased although the packaging was fine but also the finishing off is not very great . The innner flap where the zip the material is puckered and some of the material does not feel that it will smooth out as there is more of it so if t will not lie flat.
I have several tin cloth coats and have had no problems and I also have the Bowsprit jacket with the pretty flowers on and this does not have a crease InSight AND it has been packed in a suitcase to go away.I also feel that I have lost out of pocket when I return the item as I paid to have it delivered and had been looking forward to wearing it.
I shall be returning the coat and would be grateful if you could give me the full refund as it's not my fault that iam having to send it back.
The coat is a lovely colour and style and is a good fit.

Posted by  •  26th November 2016

Comments:

Dear Sally
Thanks for your review. What a shame that your new Bowsprit Jacket wasn't perfect for you on this occasion. If you would like to pop it back to us using your Freepost Label we'd be happy to arrange a refund for you.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: Small Fit
* * - - -

not great

sadly didn't like this jacket - it was a bit neat in size and wouldn't have coped with a heavy sweater underneath. also didn't look nearly as stylish in real life as on the models. obviously though i'm out of step with most other customers who seem delighted with their purchases

Posted by  •  16th October 2016

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

Great til it comes to a wash

Love this coat. Really enjoyed wearing it all summer. Sadly got some oil on it so washed it with Tec Wash as sold by seasalt and it's quite faded now - no longer seems as brilliant a rust colour as it used. Still fits well just lost colour despite following instructions, so be careful! Shame for an expensive coat and using dedicated washing liquid bought from the shop.

Posted by  •  29th September 2016

Comments:

Dear Elle,

Thanks for your review; we're sorry to hear that the Bowsprit Jacket wasn't perfect for you,

One of our Customer Services Team will be in touch shortly,

Best wishes,
Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * - - -

NOT waterproof!

Love the coat but I have just returned from a short dog walk in the rain and the coat is damp inside on the shoulders. The rain does not bounce off the fabric as described in the product information but has soaked in.
Customer services have said the fabric is faulty but I am not convinced so sadly it will be going back as I bought it for wet weather walks.

Posted by  •  20th June 2016

* - - - -

Don't buy a Bowsprit jacket at any price!

Having bought a bowsprit jacket last year I felt it was time for a wash as the light blue colour was slightly grubby. Having washed the coat as per the instructions on the label I have to say that it looks like an old rag. The creasing is such that it is unwearable as it looks as if I have slept in it since I bought it. Customer Services were most unhelpful saying 'Tough the coat still functions so get on with it'. I'm surprised that a company like Seasalt should adopt this attitude.

Posted by  •  13th March 2019

Comments:

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your review, we're sorry that you were not happy with your Bowsprit Jacket following washing. This isn't reflective of other comments we've recieved about this coat, so our Customer Service team will be in touch as we don't have a record of a contact from you or your original purchase. We look forward to resolving this for you quickly.
Best wishes,
Seasalt

* - - - -

Disappointing

Lovely coat but not waterproof... wore in the rain yesterday... rain soaked through hood, neck, shoulders and sleeves... very disappointed - I will be returning the coat today 🙁

Posted by  •  23rd September 2018

Comments:

Dear Deb,
Thank you for your review of the Bowsprit Jacket. This certainly doesn’t sound up to our usual high standard. One of our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you very shortly.
Best wishes, Seasalt.


* - - - -

Not waterproof

So disappointed with this coat. I ordered one and the first time I took it out in the rain, the seams leaked. I contacted seasalt who said I needed to send it back for "tests". They then contacted me to say yes, the seams leaked, and if I wanted one, I'd have to purchase another one as they don't do automatic replacements. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I ordered a new one and took it out in the rain this morning. I was outside for no more than 2 minutes, and once again, my clothes are wet around the neck and shoulders. I don't have time to be faffing around with printing returns labels and post office queues again. Save yourself some time and money, and choose another coat - this one may look pretty but it does not do the job it's made for.

Posted by  •  16th August 2018

Comments:

Dear Kp

Thanks for your review; we’re so sorry to hear that the Bowsprit Jacket you received wasn’t up to our usual high standard. We have a rigorous process for testing our waterproof fabrics and taped seams to make sure that every raincoat we make is fit for the worse of downpours. For this reason, faults are rare and we always take any reported defects very seriously.
I understand you have already been in contact with our friendly Customer Service team and an acceptable resolution has been reached.
If we can be of any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate in contacting us by email, or phone our friendly customer services team on 01326 640075 or please contact us via Live Chat which can be found on our website https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk

Best wishes, Seasalt.


Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Not waterproof

Unfortunately not waterproof as advertised. Very disappointed as otherwise it is nice and looks good on.

Posted by  •  5th June 2017

Comments:

Dear KT
Thanks for your review of the Bowsprit Jacket. We can see that one of our Customer Services Team have been in touch with you recently.
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* - - - -

Not Waterproof

Sadly not Waterproof!! Not even slightly... I got soaked through :(
Other a great coat...

Posted by  •  31st May 2017

Comments:

Dear CLB
Thanks for getting in touch with us about your Bowsprit Jacket, we can see that our friendly Customer Service Team are already in contact with you. Please be reassured that this does not sound to be up to our usual very high standard and we hope that we can come to a resolution quickly for you.
Best wishes, Seasalt

* - - - -

Bowsprit Jacket

Unfortunately this did not fit me at all, very disappointing as my daughter has one which fits her perfectly. It was too big on the shoulders and "ballooned" at the back. The orange colour was not as bright as I hoped either. I have since bought a Seasalt shorter green style which I am happy with as it fits me much better.

Posted by  •  22nd July 2016

Seasalt Tin Cloth

Our very own interpretation of an oil skin using hardwearing organic cotton canvas and a high tech waterproofing treatment.

Seasalt Tin Cloth

WATERPROOF CARE

1. Machine wash at 30°C with NIKWAX TECH WASH to keep your coat clean and breathable.

2. Every few washes, follow the tech wash cycle with another using NIKWAX TK DIRECT WASH IN to restore your garment’s ‘bounce off’ finish.

All our raincoats are...


WATERPROOF
5000mm
& fully taped seams

BREATHABLE
5000g
m2 / 24h

WIND RESISTANT
Tested on
Cornish cliff tops


Seasalt Raincoat Material

Recently Viewed