It looks like you're visiting from United States of America

or
Bowsprit Jacket
Click image to zoom

Bowsprit Jacket

£120.00

Plus Size Tin Cloth

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

Fully waterproof, windproof and breathable

A stylish and fuss-free, hip-length raincoat in our famous Tin Cloth® fabric. Our Bowsprit Jacket has a simple, flattering silhouette, with a dipped parka-style hem, adjustable drawcord hood, zip and popper placket closure, cotton lining and turnback cuffs. Our Tin Cloth® is made from organic cotton with a hi-tech waterproofing treatment – our interpretation of an oilskin. This special Seasalt fabric is waterproof, windproof and breathable, with a soft yet durable finish. We’ve improved the fabric this season, giving it a softer feel so it’s even easier to wear. Part of the Seasalt RAIN® collection - find out more.

To keep your Seasalt RAIN® coat performing at its best, wash with Nikwax Tech Wash® and reproof with Nikwax TX Direct®

Customer Reviews
* * * * * Rated 5/5 (336 reviews)

Average customer rating 5 out of 5, based on 336 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Stylish coat

I haven't actually worn this coat in the rain yet but the fit and look of the coat is lovely. So do hope it is waterproof!

Posted by  •  29th June 2016

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Sizing good, no creases

Got the 14, good fit over jumper. No problems with creases as in other reviews. The green is very greeeeeeen - I like it, but not for the faint hearted. I find the pocket flaps a bit annoying because they tend to crease upwards. Apart from that, lovely!

Posted by  •  19th June 2016

Fit: Small Fit
* * * * -

lovely jacket

I really loved the colour ( green and the style of the jacket) However, it is not a generous sizing so if you like a loose fitting coat I would go for a bigger size. The cut of the jacket is straight up and down, so important to keep this in mnd if you like a fuller fitting coat. i have used it out in the rain and it has been great.

Posted by  •  15th June 2016

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Bowsprit jacket

Lovely product but VERY creased when received , despite hanging for ages, creases did not drop out.
In the rain- some raindrops stayed on top of the fabric & some soaked into the fabric making it look mottled until it dried.
When the hood was wet from the rain & down off my head, the wet fabric wet the back of my hair.
Comfortable to wear, lovely colour.

Posted by  •  12th May 2016

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Great

Love this jacket. Perfect for the school run and the hedgerow colour is cheerful. Bit cross they took 20% off it days after I bought it. Heyho

Posted by  •  1st May 2016

Fit: Small Fit
* * * * -

Lovely organic cotton raincoat

I was looking for a longer Tin Cloth coat, being very happy with my existing Sea Folly (love the fact that it's all cotton and cotton lined) and this is it! Wrecked is a gorgeous colour and I love the Parka style back. This is slightly roomier in the body than the Sea Folly but by contrast, a little bit narrow across the shoulders. Being 5'7', I still find the sleeve length just a fraction too short, on a coat especially I think a longer sleeve is more important, soggy hands are not nice! I went for my usual 8 though and a thin jumper underneath is fine, I did try the 10 which was better on the sleeve length and shoulder width but huge in the body. Overall though, a lovely jacket.

Posted by  •  22nd December 2015

Comments:

Thank you for your review. Our customer feedback is really valuable and we'll pass your comments to our Design team for consideration in future collections.
Best wishes,
Seasalt

* * * - -

Great lite rainproof

Chuffed just bought this in Babnury's Barnstaple, Devon came out store and raining, just had to wear, was thinking made in Cornwall, England BUT SAD ITS CHINA so not buying any more ! Ever ! Shall find UK made waterproof, almost want to return fir refund 😨

Posted by  •  5th October 2019

Comments:

Thanks for your review of the Bowsprit Jacket. In response to your comments about manufacturing in China; we like to re-assure you that all our suppliers sign and comply with the Ethical Trading Initiative (ETI) Base Code, of which Seasalt are members. This is an internationally recognised code of labour practice designed to protect workers’ rights. This code covers issues including forced labour, working conditions, living wages, child labour and discrimination.
In addition to signing Seasalt’s supplier contract and Ethical Standards Commitment Statement, all our suppliers are required to join Sedex, the Supplier Ethical Data Exchange. Sedex is a not-for-profit, membership organisation dedicated to improving responsible and ethical business practices in global supply chains.

I do hope that this re-assures you that the garment is manufactured responsibly and that the quality is paramount to us.

If you’d like any more detailed information about our policies, you can read them https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/customer/pages/about/our-responsibilities or contact our customer services team who will be pleased to answer any further questions you might have. You can e-mail contactus@seasaltcornwall.co.uk, hop onto a Live Chat or call us on 01326 640075.


Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Issues with hood

The Pontoon Harbour is a lovely colour and the stripe gives it that extra lift. However, I am really torn whether or not I will keep this jacket because of the hood. Ultimately I want a waterproof jacket that will keep me dry in the rain. But I fear the hood will leave me with a wet forehead and face. Perhaps I have a larger head than most, but for me this jacket would be perfect if it had a little extra flap of fabric at the peak of the hood to increase the coverage to keep water off the face. I shouldn't have to carry an umbrella as well or keep one hand holding the hood over my head enough. The hood is the only reason I am undecided. Otherwise it is a stylish jacket.

Posted by  •  19th June 2019

Comments:

Hi Dizzysquid
Thank you for reviewing the Bowsprit Jacket. We're sorry to hear that it wasn't perfect for you this time and if you do decide to return it to us, of course we'll arrange a 'no quibble' refund for you if you'd like to pop it back to us using your free post label.
We'll ensure your feedback about the hood is passed on to our design team for their consideration.
We've got some other beautiful Raincoats in our collection which you might like, so please take a look...
Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Something wrong with the cuffs

My husband bought this coat for my birthday and initially I was delighted. I first wore it when I took it away for a short break and found the large cuffs a complete nuisance. They keep falling over my hands, don’t stay turned up as they should and generally need constant attention. One needed pressing when it came out of the bag as it was creased completely wrongly.
Apart from this major issue, the raincoat is just as one would expect from SeaSalt but I am at a loss as to how the cuffs can be easily remedied, and I am a tailoress!

Posted by  •  29th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

Not for long walks in the rain

This is a great coat for light rain. If you plan to walk in moderate rain for more than 20 mins then I would consider buying a different coat. My coat soaked through and it took ages to dry. Very disappointed as this coat was to replace a very good waterproof jacket, I am going to buy the wash recommended to keep it waterproof to see if this helps. Otherwise it will be back to purchasing Helly Hansen jackets.

It would be great if you could put waterproof ratings on the descriptions eg waterproof to <5000mm.

Posted by  •  2nd December 2018

Seasalt Tin Cloth

Our very own interpretation of an oil skin using hardwearing organic cotton canvas and a high tech waterproofing treatment.

Seasalt Tin Cloth

WATERPROOF CARE

1. Machine wash at 30°C with NIKWAX TECH WASH to keep your coat clean and breathable.

2. Every few washes, follow the tech wash cycle with another using NIKWAX TK DIRECT WASH IN to restore your garment’s ‘bounce off’ finish.

All our raincoats are...


WATERPROOF
5000mm
& fully taped seams

BREATHABLE
5000g
m2 / 24h

WIND RESISTANT
Tested on
Cornish cliff tops


Seasalt Raincoat Material

Recently Viewed