Book Seller Pinafore Dress
Click image to zoom

Book Seller Pinafore Dress

£69.95

In stock - Despatched in 2-3 working days

Size guide
  1. Description
  2. Details
  3. Measurements
  4. Delivery & Returns

100% Cotton

A knee-length pinafore dress in super soft denim twill that defines Seasalt studiowear style. Our Book Seller Dress has a flattering gentle A-line shape, with a scoop neck and two patch pockets. Versatile and easy to wear, it's one of our favourites - we like it best layered over stripes.

Customer Reviews
* * * * - Rated 4/5 (65 reviews)

Average customer rating 4 out of 5, based on 65 reviews.

Write a Review
X Close
Acceptable Use Policy

Information provided in this form will only be used in connection with the review. For more information, please read our privacy policy.

Fit: Small Fit
* * - - -

Sad

So sad that sea salt have not provided this most forgiving of all styles to your larger ladies i would love a pinafore in a 22 don't understand why they are not available so very sad

Posted by  •  11th May 2019

Comments:

Hi Kate59
Thank you for your review of the Book Seller Pinafore Dress, but I'm sorry to hear that the fit wasn't perfect for you this time. Although this garment isn't available in our Plus range at the moment we'll be sure to pass your feedback on.
Do take a look at our Plus collection here: https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk/clothing/plus-size-clothing - we're sure you'll find another item here that will be a perfect fit!
Best wishes
Seasalt



Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Book Seller Pinafore Dress

absolutely love this dress, really versatile and a great fit

Posted by  •  22nd April 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Pinafore dress

Just love the dress

Posted by  •  13th April 2019

Comments:

Thanks Sally, we love it too!

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Book seller pinafore dress

For some time have been looking for a denim pinafore and the Bookseller fits the bill perfectly. Am 5ft 7ins and the length is just on the knee, perfect. A very wearable dress suitable for all seasons.

Posted by  •  12th April 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Denim pinafore dress

Love it,, smart casual, very comfortable

Posted by  •  8th April 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Bookseller dress

Love this dress - it's my first Seasalt purchase. I've already worn it half a dozen times since I got it. Looks brilliant with jumpers for cooler weather or t shirts when it's warmer. I'm 5ft3in and it's quite long - below the knee - and I may get it shortened but I'm very happy with it altogether.

Posted by  •  6th April 2019

Comments:

Dear Deborah
Thanks for your review of the Bookseller Pinafore; sorry it wasn’t a perfect length for you. We do however have some other great designs available in our Petite Range, specifically designed for people under 5ft 3inches, which you might be interested in.

* * * * *

Live It

I usually wait for a sale to purchase anything, but l bought this fabulous pinafore the week it was available. I have (am) living in it. At 5ft 4 the length is spot on the knee. It has been washed so often that now it is so soft. I adore it.

Posted by  •  25th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

All 'Ship Shape'

A well made garment, sensible length and delivered according to plan. Would have appreciated a zip in the under arm seam especially for the price paid. I tried to purchase this garment in several Seasalt franchises but none had any in stock so may be a good idea to promote such a popular item.

Posted by  •  23rd March 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Pinafore dress

I bought this dress a size smaller and is a better fit for this. A really good at home/ studio work dress. I love the knee length, needing no shortening length.

Posted by  •  20th March 2019

* * - - -

Awful sizing discrepancies

Tried size 18 in denim.bookseller dress as large busted but smaller bottom half , tight on bust , tried size 20 on , enormous , measured the size 18 against a size 16 , 1 cm wider , size 20 was 5" wider than size 18 ??? How on earth does that make sense , left with nothing but a wasted journey .

Posted by  •  18th March 2019

Comments:

Dear Chamoix,
Thanks for your review; sorry to hear our Book Seller Pinafore Dress wasn’t a good fit on this occasion. Please call our friendly customer service team on 01326 640075 or pop onto Live Chat on our website at www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk, where we’d be happy to give further sizing information if required.
Best wishes, Seasalt


Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Lovely Versatile dress

Loved this dress bought a size 12 but had to go down a size. Checked measurements and a size 12 is a 39.8 bust whilst a size 10 is 37.8.
I probably like a more streamlined look but tried it on with the striped T-shirt underneath and size 10 still fitted well. Will wear it lots

Posted by  •  16th March 2019

Fit: Small Fit
* * * * -

Useful dress

I found that I had to go up a size in this dress. I think I’ll get a lot of wear out of it

Posted by  •  11th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Brilliant Pinafore

I fell in love with this pinafore online and ordered it on a Saturday night, wanted to wear it on my birthday the following Wednesday. Didn’t expect it to arrive in time tho but big surprise, it arrived Wednesday morning and I wore it all day! Plus the next and the one after that! I love it, so easy to wear and goes over so many things - tees, shirt, light jumper.

Posted by  •  11th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Versatile pinafore

I already have the burgundy needlecord pinafore, which I have worn loads, so I treated myself to this one which will be suitable for spring and summer with bare legs, or tights and boots now. However, it is much tighter under the arms than my other one. I have had to alter it before I can wear it. It looks good though!

Posted by  •  9th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Comfortable dress

This is so comfortable and can easily be dressed up or down for a more casual look.Also just the right length I am 5ft 4in.

Posted by  •  7th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love it!

Very happy with this dress. Well cut and good quality fabric. I want to wear it every day.

Posted by  •  5th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Excellent!!

love this pinafore, longer than I normally have but very comfy, style ideal, dress it up or down.

Posted by  •  4th March 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Beautiful Pinafore Dress

I confess I did hesitate before buying this pinafore dress , partly the price tag and partly I thought that at 5ft 4ins it may be too long . I am delighted I took the plunge because it is a truly beautiful and well made garment which fits like a dream and the length is absolutely perfect . Looks gorgeous with sailor shirts ( I have a large collection ) tights and boots . It is so nice to get out of jeans and this can be worn during every season , apart from really hot weather . Another wonderful Seasalt creation .

Posted by  •  28th February 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * -

Wardrobe staple

Really pleased with this dress - better length than many and can be worn comfortably with tights, not just leggings.
Slightly gapey round the armholes if I wanted to wear it without a top beneath which is a little annoying but smaller size too tight to get on/off without a zip

Posted by  •  28th February 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Excellent garment

Delighted with this pinafore like,the style ,fit and length and the fabric. There are a lot of mini pinafores around it seems but not many of this length so thank you Seasalt and please can you make it in cord. At 160 cm I am hardly a giant and it comes to just past my knee

Posted by  •  26th February 2019

* - - - -

Really Disappointed

As a regular Seasalt customer, I was thrilled with my denim pinafore, in fact, its the third one Ive bought in the last few months. I wore it with a white/navy Breton top underneath. When I took the top off I noticed the dye from the pinafore had transferred to the top,I washed it and none of the blue dye came out. I contacted customer service to tell them about the fault. I was told that it states on the label that the colour can transfer to lighter colours, its written in tiny print on the inside label, which, funnily enough, I hadn't read.

Posted by  •  25th February 2019

Comments:

Dear SNW,
Thank you for your review of the Book Seller Pinafore Dress. Sorry to hear you experienced a dye transfer issue. I understand you have already been in contact with our Customer Service team and an acceptable resolution has been reached.
If we can be of any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate in contacting us by email, or phone our friendly customer services team on 01326 640075 or please contact us via Live Chat which can be found on our website https://www.seasaltcornwall.co.uk
Best wishes, Seasalt.

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Denim pinafore

I love this dress! I got fed up with wearing jeans every day now I am retired and this is a great way to ring the changes with tops and tights providing contrast. It's comfortable, fits perfectly and looks good.

Posted by  •  25th February 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Book seller pinafore dress

At last a great denim pinafore. The right length for wearing with tights and boots in winter but with bare legs and flip flops in summer. Accurate sizing and quality material and shape. I love it and have bought a second. More like this please

Posted by  •  23rd February 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

What no petite??

I have to agree with a previous reviewer about the fact that Petites like us seemed to be overlooked. I'm 5 ft 2/ size 8 and would love to buy more SS items but they are far too big. I order and send back nearly all my stuff. I think SS and a lot of other companies are missing a trick here regarding petite sizing. There's a lot of us out there with money to spend!. This pinafore by the way would have been lovely if i could only grow by 5 inches or more! :(

Posted by  •  21st February 2019

Comments:


Dear LesR57,

Thanks for your review of the Book Seller Pinafore Dress; sorry to hear the sizing of this dress wasn’t perfect for you on this occasion. We are increasing our Petite range and more lines are being added going forward. Have you considered the High Moorland Pinafore Dress as a suitable alternative? This comes in petite sizing and may be perfect for you.

Best wishes, Seasalt

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Great everyday dress

Delighted with this pinafore dress. Good quality and perfect fit. Highly recommend

Posted by  •  19th February 2019

Fit: Small Fit
* * * - -

Fit not quite right

I bought this in a 16 but it was too big - so I tried the 14 which fitted perfectly apart from around the bust - where the darts sat too high and so didn't look right. Such a shame because I otherwise loved this.

Posted by  •  14th February 2019

Fit: Bigger Fit
* - - - -

why not in a petite sizing !!!

I would have loved this dress but as is usual you have to be Amazonian like in stature to wear it !! What about us shorter people Seasalt !! (and there are a lot of us out there you know. were not all 5ft 7) I'm 5ft 1 and would love to own this dress but as usual no petite sizing on me i'ts like a night dress. We short people do wear dresses too. i think you are seriously missing a trick. please make in petite :o(

Posted by  •  12th February 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * - -

top versus bottom

This was a good length on me: it hits the knee (1.73m tall). I found the material a bit heavy, but still acceptable. It fit in my usual Seasalt size. It was a good fit on the bottom, but it bulged around my chest and under my arms, where it had too much material for me and could have done which a better cut. I couldn't size down for a better fit, as it would have been too tight at the bottom in a size down. Sadly not for me, even thought I would like to have a pinafore dress.

Posted by  •  6th February 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Book Seller Pinafore Dress

Bought this dress in October and have worn it more than any other garment I own. Its flattering cut & length (perfect for my height 5’8”) and the soft but substantial fabric make it versatile and comfortable to wear. I would love to have it made in needlecord in other colours.

Posted by  •  15th January 2019

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

book seller pinafore dress

Absolutely lovely dress, easy to put on, easy to wear, nice loose fit which is what I needed. wouldn't normally pay full price but I needed it and It is perfect so don't mind for once.

Posted by  •  2nd January 2019

Fit: Small Fit
* * * * -

Lovely fabric

I ordered size 10 after looking at the actual measurements given, unsurprisingly the pinafore did not fit - I could not get it on and returned it. Lovely fabric, would have been great.

Posted by  •  29th November 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Lovely pinafore, just a bit too long

Love this and wear it lots. I was surprised how long it was, I'm 5ft 7ins and it was well over my knees. The model must be quite tall. I just took the hem up and now it's perfect!

Posted by  •  28th November 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

easy comfort

the shape is good and it is very comfortable to wear. Agree with previous comment that it would be desirable in needlecord

Posted by  •  10th November 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Versatile denim pinafore

The fit is flattering, the length is just right and the fabric is sturdy but soft.
This dress is a pleasure to wear. Wear with bare legs & sandals in warm weather, thick tights & boots when chilly & ring the changes with different tops to make the most of this versatile dress. I’d like one in needle cord in other colours.

Posted by  •  28th October 2018

* * * * *

Perfect pinafore dress

I love this dress ! looks great with striped Seasalt sailor tees underneath. I like that it's just that bit longer than the one I bought last year......& that it doesn't have those irritating straps that keep falling of my shoulders !........well done Seasalt.

Posted by  •  28th October 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Denim Pinafore

The quality is superb for this dress, but way too long compared to the photos. Just because the size is bigger, there is no need to make the length difference so much. It is a plain pinafore, so maybe a bit more imagination on the design for the price of it. I have been shopping for weeks to try and find a denim dress, so very disappointed I had to return it....

Posted by  •  23rd October 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

AWESOME

Best denim dress I have every had! I am 5foot 11 inches and I ordered size 12 and it fits perfectly. Falls just above my knee and has enough stretch that I can lift my legs up which I often have to do as a school teacher doing drama activities.
I love it and the colour is beautiful.
Only downside is I have big hands and the pockets are a bit small. But I have that issue with most pockets!

Posted by  •  13th October 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love it

Ummed and ahhed about buying this because of the price, but very glad I did. Looks great with a sailor top underneath. Fine with bare legs now (I'm 5'6" and it's on my knee in a size 1 2), but would look great with tights or leggings in coming months. Hope it doesn't shrink when washed as it's a perfect size.

Posted by  •  27th September 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Perfect for me

I was going to get the High Deck pinafore dress, but found the material too stiff and uncomfortable and the size 10 was difficult to put on (I discovered the zip got stuck on the waistband) and made me look frumpy. Then I found the Book Seller in denim in a size 8, which fitted perfectly and was just the right length on me. Worn with a stripey t-shirt on warmer days and jumper and tights on cooler days it's a doer for most of the year.

A heartfelt plea - Seasalt don't put any of the ubiquitous elastane in any material.

Posted by  •  27th September 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

Lovley dress

Lovely dress would agree with others could do with a bit of stretch it's in heavy material. Found it a bit long for me I'm 5ft 4in, so I just took it up myself

Posted by  •  26th September 2018

* * * * -

Prefer the Art Book Version

I tried this on in your Southwold shop, and loved it, but found it a teeny bit difficult to get on in an 8, and a little too big in a 10 . I think that the denim would benefit from just a little bit of stretch.
The lovely assistants at Southwold managed to find me an Art Book version from the sale, and this overcomes all my problems. I have not very much ‘on top’ and the dress does not fall off my shoulders at all and is very easy to slip on, but still looks wonderful with thin jumpers and sailor tees at the moment, and will look equally good with thicker knits when it gets colder!
Just my opinion, but I think that the Art Book style is better than the Bookseller for my pear shaped figure, but both are equally lovely and very versatile.
A blig thank you to the staff in the Southwold branch, who were happy to go the extra mile!

Posted by  •  20th September 2018

* * * * *

Exactly what l wanted!

Perfect, flattering, ideal style and length. The search is over!

Posted by  •  20th September 2018

* * * * *

Fabulous!

This is a great pinefore! Have been looking for something like this for a long time so well done Seasalt for coming up trumps. There’s simply nothing I don’t like.

Posted by  •  15th September 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * - -

Bookseller pinafore dress

Size 8 was good for me. However, the bottom part, by design, was too bottom heavy, causing me to want to pull this part up to meet the upper half. The material however is lovely and if there were a skirt made in this, I would probably buy this more readily, Please produce the skirt!

Posted by  •  12th September 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Spot on, more colours ?

After 20 years of searching the perfect pinafore dress came along. Thank you Seasalt ! Have you considered making it in the same wonderful fit & quality but other colours ?

Posted by  •  10th September 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Just Perfect!

This is just perfect for these slightly cooler days. Quality as always is lovely and the fit is spot on. It looks good with colourful tees and boots. I am so glad I got this.

Posted by  •  10th September 2018

* * * * *

Fab

I absolutely love this dress. It is so flattering. Everyone comments on it. More colours please.

Posted by  •  9th September 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Total staple

Had this dress for less than 2 weeks and literally don’t seem to have had it off my back. Love it. It’s a perfect into autumn dress and with a warmer top and thick tights will be great when it gets colder. Fit is spot on, fabric perfect. Can’t recommend it too highly for my first seasalt purchase impressed!

Posted by  •  6th September 2018

* * * * *

Lovely dress

This is going to be my go to dress for autumn/winter I absolutely love it! It's a dress me up, dress me down type! Thank you I have looked for this dress for ages

Posted by  •  5th September 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Versatile pinafore dress

You will not be disappointed if you buy this pinafore dress. So versatile - can be worn between seasons with a T-shirt/ Larissa shirt -and a jumper and tights in the winter. Washes really well. My only grip is the sizing - bought an 8 which was to long for me - considered taking up the hem but decided to return the pinafore - then tried on another size 8 and it was a inch shorter!!!!! So glad I did.. Lesson learnt - try on more than one in the same size.

Posted by  •  4th September 2018

* * * * -

Lovely dress

I ordered this dress thinking I’d have to send it back thinking it would be too long for my 5ft 1 frame but was pleasantly surprised when it arrived (also was in the sale too :) ) - lovely fit and look forward to wearing it with my Breton tops, tights and dr martens in autumn - Thankyou seasalt

Posted by  •  29th August 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

I love this!

I'm really pleased that size 14 is a perfect fit and I have had no end of compliments when wearing this pinafore. It is lovely in the summer on its own or with a blouse/T shirt, and will also be great in the winter with a jumper, tights and boots.

Posted by  •  21st August 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Nice pinny

I like this and found size 16 fitted. At least this stays on my shoulders unlike the earlier version with interesting back. It will be useful with short and long sleeved tops

Posted by  •  20th August 2018

* * - - -

Pinafore

I found this too tight to get on in my size next size too big. Found an art book one . This is perfect . Had an idea how about it, if this is reversed so the crossover is at the front with one or two buttons it would make a perfect new style . I Tried it on backwards looks great!

Posted by  •  17th August 2018

* * * * *

Cosy, Comfortable, and classic

I love this dress so much I now have two :)

Posted by  •  16th August 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * * * *

Autumn style

Well made and stylish. Comfortable fit.

Posted by  •  12th August 2018

* * * * *

Lovely pinafore

I love denim, but had not found a pinafore dress before. I tried the Art Book dress earlier this year but the cross-over back didn't suit me and it fell off the shoulders. This style is perfect. I kept my usual size after rolling the stiff hems until they relaxed, whereupon it was the perfect fit even with a t-shirt undetneath. This will get lots of wear!

Posted by  •  12th August 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Pinafore

I have been looking everywhere for this pinafore dress. It is roomy,the quality & weight of the denim is perfect. I would have loved the cross over back one too but I can wait. Looking forward to wearing it with my many stripey seasalt tops. Another winner. Thank you.

Posted by  •  11th August 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Not for me

I ordered this dress with high hopes as I am always wanting a nice pinafore!
Unfortunately the material was thinner than I had hoped and just generally didn’t fit me well. The length was nice but the area by the pockets didn’t sit quite right.

I think if they made this with a thicker, more fitted stretch material it would be better.

On me sadly this just looked like a sack.

Posted by  •  10th August 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * -

denim Pinafore

Ordered Book Seller and Art Book Pinafores for comparison. This pinafore was a good fit, but for me I preferred the Art Book with cross over back as it wasn't so restrictive..

Posted by  •  2nd August 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Perfect Pinafore!

At last! Like a previous reviewer, I have been searching for a pinafore that suits me for years. My usual size 8 is a perfect fit - roomy enough to take a layer underneath but also a nice neat line. It just covers my knees which is what I wanted, and it has pockets! I too noticed the smell but I'm sure it will go after a wash and a dose of fabric softener. A lovely casual dress - I'm looking forward to cooler weather and wearing it with a long sleeved tee shirt and a pretty scarf. Thank you Seasalt, I'm one very happy customer!

Posted by  •  28th July 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Book seller pinafore dress

Very pleased with my purchase. So versatile for most seasons, I ordered a size 14 which allows me to wear a top under it, a classic denim “must have”. Thank you Seasalt.

Posted by  •  28th July 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Love it!

Thank you Seasalt! I've wanted one of these for years and this is perfect - a much better design for me than last year's version. I was worried that at 5'4" and curvy with it, it might not suit me but the size 12 (my usual Seasalt size) was just right. The colour is gorgeous too. It actually makes me look forward to some cooler weather so I can wear it with a stripey top :)
The only slightly odd thing about is that it smelt quite strongly (of the dye?) when I took it out of the packaging, but I've washed it gently once and that's already improved a lot. (I have a very sensitive nose unfortunately, so some people might not even notice. Anyway, it's so lovely, even with a slight smell, I certainly wasn't going to send it back!)

Posted by  •  24th July 2018

Fit: Bigger Fit
* * - - -

Too Wide

Couldn't wait to try this on in store after noticing it online but very disappointed. I am usually a 12/14 in Seasalt and both sizes were way too wide on me. I found it shapeless and unflattering and way too long (I'm 5 4" and it was way below my knee) - in fact I felt it put years on me and looked very old fashioned! Really wanted to love it as it is a very handy dress for all my Seasalt sailor tops - but not for me I'm afraid.

Posted by  •  23rd July 2018

Fit: True to Size 
* * * * *

Book seller pinafore dress

Delighted with my purchase. A classic denim pinafore dress generous enough to wear a top under in cooler seasons. Perfect fit and length for me as a petite 5’ hemline falls at mid calf. Thank you Seasalt.

Posted by  •  16th July 2018

Recently Viewed